Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

⚠ Preprint — not yet peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 16 out of 100. Health systems and care delivery

Topic: Health services, long-term care and technology

Background Adult day programs (ADPs) are a community-based continuing care service for older adults, including those living with dementia, and their family or friend caregivers. Evidence regarding the effect of ADPs on long-term care (LTC) home admission is inconsistent. Objectives To develop a realist program theory explaining how and why APDs influence LTC home admission for people living with dementia. Methods We searched CINAHL, EBM Reviews, JBI EBP Database, Embase, Medline, APA PsycInfo, and Social Work Abstracts (inception to January 6, 2026), and screened reference lists of relevant reviews and included studies. We included original studies of any design that reported details on contexts and mechanisms explaining how and why ADPs influence LTC home admissions for people living with dementia. We excluded studies not reporting results specific to persons living with dementia or focusing on settings other than ADPs. Pairs of research team members independently screened titles, abstracts, and full texts, completed a critical appraisal of included studies’ methodological quality, and extracted Context-Mechanism-Outcome (CMO) statements. Discrepancies were reconciled by consensus after each step. Results We included 17 studies, of which we extracted eight CMO statements. Six CMO statements were synthesized into a program theory. ADPs delay LTC home admission through relational processes involving attendees, caregivers, and ADP staff. Key mechanisms include staff observation and early identification of changing care needs, effective communication with caregivers, caregiver respite and support, and high-quality care. APDs that actively integrate and support caregivers, provide person-centered care, promote attendance, and are accessed early strengthen caregivers’ capacity to continue supporting persons living with dementia. Conclusions To reduce the risk of LTC admissions for individuals living with dementia, ADPs and ADP policies need ensure structures and processes that facilitate early, continued, and sufficient access, as well as high quality support of individuals living with dementia and their caregivers. Contexts and mechanisms associated with attendees’ and caregivers’ social determinants of health, and system-level contexts and mechanisms that influence ADPs are important knowledge gaps to be addressed by studies and to be incorporated in our program theory in the future. Registration PROSPERO, CRD42024504030

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Medveyuk, S., Vervaecke, D., Nguyen, H., Corbett, K., Dymchuk, E., Baghini, B. Z., et al. (2026). How and why adult day programs influence admissions to long-term care homes for persons living with dementia: A program theory based on a realist review. Research Square. https://doi.org/10.21203/rs.3.rs-9918025/v1

Vancouver

Medveyuk S, Vervaecke D, Nguyen H, Corbett K, Dymchuk E, Baghini BZ, et al. How and why adult day programs influence admissions to long-term care homes for persons living with dementia: A program theory based on a realist review. Research Square. 2026. doi:10.21203/rs.3.rs-9918025/v1.

BibTeX

@article{medveyuk2026-b46b3dcd,
  author  = {Medveyuk, S. and Vervaecke, D. and Nguyen, H. and Corbett, K. and Dymchuk, E. and Baghini, B. Z. and Slavescu, I. and Tate, K. and others},
  title   = {{How and why adult day programs influence admissions to long-term care homes for persons living with dementia: A program theory based on a realist review}},
  journal = {Research Square},
  year    = {2026},
  doi     = {10.21203/rs.3.rs-9918025/v1},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.21203/rs.3.rs-9918025/v1}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 16/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 2 of 10; Journal's citation record 0 of 4; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 4 of 10; How recent 5 of 5; Sample size 1 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 1 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. 17 of the 62 points it could be judged on, which is 27 of 100. Raw total 27 of 100, shown as 16 because this is not a peer-reviewed research article.raw total 27 of 100capped at 16 — hatched points do not count

Preprint — not yet peer-reviewed. It scored 27 on the same rubric, but non-peer-reviewed sources are capped at 16, so it shows as 16. Scored zero for study design, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 17 of the 62 points we could judge it on, which is 27 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 2 / 10 Tier 4 — not a peer-reviewed journal (Research Square)
Journal's citation record 0 / 4 Not a journal article, so the journal's record does not count
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 4 / 10 Preprint — not yet peer-reviewed. Hosted on a preprint server.
How recent 5 / 5 2026 — within 1 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 1 / 4 17 participants
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 1 / 2 Not in PubMed, but has a DOI
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Points 17 / 62 Scored on 12 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 17 of the 62 points we could judge it on is 27 out of 100.
Total 27 / 100 Capped to 16 because this is not a peer-reviewed article.

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Related studies in Health systems and care delivery

Also tagged “assisted-living”

199 studies in the library carry the topic tag “assisted-living”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 199 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Health systems and care delivery

See all studies in Health systems and care delivery →