Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 39 out of 100. Vascular contributions

Topic: Brain proteins, microglia and lab models

In part 1 of the study, the patients with CSVD showed significant differences in Montreal Cognitive Assessment (MoCA), Auditory Verbal Learning Test (AVLT)-study, AVLT-immediate, AVLT-delay, AVLT-recognition, Trail Making Test (TMT)-A, TMT-B, and Verbal Fluency Test -fruits/vegetables compared with HCs. Meanwhile, left hippocampal subregions to whole-brain resting state-functional connectivity (rs-FC) analysis showed that the rs-FC strength between the hippocampal cognitive subregion (HIPc) and both the left dorsolateral superior frontal gyrus and the right medial superior frontal gyrus significantly altered in patients with CSVD compared with HCs, suggesting that the prefrontal cortex is a stimulation target of HD-tDCS. In part 2 of the study, performance on the MoCA, AVLT-study, AVLT-delay, SDMT, and digit span test improved in 20 patients with CSVD after 14 days of HD-tDCS targeting the left dorsolateral prefrontal cortex. At the same time, the rs-FC strength between HIPc and the alteration cluster found in the first part of the study, located in the left dorsolateral superior frontal gyrus, was decreased after treatment. HD-tDCS may help normalize brain network function and improve cognitive function in patients with CSVD by reducing rs-FC between the hippocampus and the left dorsolateral prefrontal cortex. Further research is needed to refine treatment plans and evaluate the long-term effects of HD-tDCS on cognitive function in patients with CSVD. The patients with CSVD exhibited altered rs-FC in the hippocampal-prefrontal circuit. HD-tDCS could modulate this circuit and improve cognitive function in patients with CSVD.

Key findings

Why it matters

In this open-label pilot study, 20 patients with cerebral small vessel disease showed improved scores on several cognitive tests after 14 days of high-definition transcranial direct current stimulation targeting the left dorsolateral prefrontal cortex. The authors say further research is needed to refine treatment plans and evaluate the approach, so this is early preliminary evidence.

Study details

How this study scored 39/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record 1 of 4; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 5 of 5; Sample size 2 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited 1 of 7; Citations per year 0 of 5; Impact for its field and year 2 of 6; Cited by studies here 0 of 6; Still being cited 0 of 4; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record 1 of 3; Multi-centre collaboration 2 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. 37 of the 96 points it could be judged on, which is 39 of 100. Total 39 of 100.37 of the 96 points we could judge = 39 of 100

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on senior author's track record, so that was left out: it earned 37 of the 96 points we could judge it on, which is 39 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Current Neuropharmacology)
Journal's citation record 1 / 4 Current Neuropharmacology: journal h-index 141 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29)
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 5 / 5 2026 — within 1 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 2 / 4 104 participants
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited 1 / 7 Cited 1 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10)
Citations per year 0 / 5 0.5 citations a year over 2 year(s) since 2026
Impact for its field and year 2 / 6 Cited 2.5× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI)
Cited by studies here 0 / 6 No other study in this library cites it
Still being cited 0 / 4 Cited 1 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex)
Senior author's track record — / 4 OpenAlex's profile for last-listed author Qiang Wei holds only 4 work(s), too few to judge a track record — left out of this score
Institution's track record 1 / 3 University of Science and Technology of China: institution h-index 1,001 (OpenAlex)
Multi-centre collaboration 2 / 3 OpenAlex lists 4 institution(s) in 1 country
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 42163676)
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Points 37 / 96 Scored on 19 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 37 of the 96 points we could judge it on is 39 out of 100.
Total 39 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

May need a subscription OpenAlex found no free copy of the full text (checked 6 Feb 1020), so the publisher may charge for it. The PubMed abstract is free.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Cao, S., Du, B., Liu, Y., Ruan, S., Sun, W., Zhang, Y., et al. (2026). High-definition Transcranial Direct Current Stimulation Improves Cognitive Function in Patients with Cerebral Small Vessel Disease: An Open-label Pilot Study Informed by Cross-sectional Analysis. Current Neuropharmacology. https://doi.org/10.2174/011570159x421474260311080532

Vancouver

Cao S, Du B, Liu Y, Ruan S, Sun W, Zhang Y, et al. High-definition Transcranial Direct Current Stimulation Improves Cognitive Function in Patients with Cerebral Small Vessel Disease: An Open-label Pilot Study Informed by Cross-sectional Analysis. Current Neuropharmacology. 2026. doi:10.2174/011570159x421474260311080532. PMID: 42163676.

BibTeX

@article{cao2026-42163676,
  author  = {Cao, Shanshan and Du, Baogen and Liu, Yuanyuan and Ruan, Shihao and Sun, Wenchen and Zhang, Ying and Yang, Jinying and Hu, Panpan and others},
  title   = {{High-definition Transcranial Direct Current Stimulation Improves Cognitive Function in Patients with Cerebral Small Vessel Disease: An Open-label Pilot Study Informed by Cross-sectional Analysis}},
  journal = {Current Neuropharmacology},
  year    = {2026},
  doi     = {10.2174/011570159x421474260311080532},
  pmid    = {42163676},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.2174/011570159x421474260311080532}
}

Related studies in Vascular contributions

Also tagged “cerebral”

900 studies in the library carry the topic tag “cerebral”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 900 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Vascular contributions

See all studies in Vascular contributions →