Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

⚠ Preprint — not yet peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 16 out of 100. Brain scans and imaging

Topic: Brain imaging, connectivity and assessment

Precision medicine approaches require physiological effects to be informative when translated to the individual. Reliable group differences may have limited individual value when distributions overlap, mechanisms are heterogeneous, or patients differ in phenotype. A feature can differ between group means and still overlap heavily across individuals Moreover, combinations of physiological abnormalities may reveal subject-level structure that is not captured by any single marker at the group level. We evaluate the translation between group- and individual-level features derived from resting-state magnetoencephalography (MEG) using behavioural-variant frontotemporal dementia (bvFTD) and progressive supranuclear palsy (PSP) as demonstrator conditions. These illnesses have distinct molecular pathology but share the pressing need for therapeutic development and have partially overlapping clinical and physiological features. We combine clinical phenotype, power spectral density (PSD), and latent network mechanisms inferred by dynamic causal modelling (DCM) to compare groups and to access their individuals mapping translations. We used classification as an exploratory probe of how group-defined physiological features from 74 healthy controls, 45 participants with bvFTD and 55 participants with PSP support individual assignment. Clinical scores showed strong individual-level translation, consistent with clinical diagnostic definitions (e.g, controls-vs-PSP accuracy 0.94; bvFTD-vs-PSP accuracy 0.83). MEG spectra feature classified individuals weakly (accuracy ~0.6), despite group level re-organization (e.g., reduced beta-band and increased fronto-insular alpha-phase/beta-amplitude coupling in bvFTD). Inferred biophysical parameters gave intermediate performance (e.g. PSP-vs-control accuracy 0.70; bvFTD-vs-PSP accuracy 0.74) while retaining mechanistic interpretability. Using this approach, experimental medicine studies of neurological disease can formally trade between mechanistic insight and classification performance, in using biomarkers that can account for individual heterogeneity within and between diagnostic groups.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Jafarian, A., Hughes, L. E., Naessens, M., Rouse, M., Cope, T. E., Holland, N., et al. (2026). From group-level neurophysiological biomarkers to individual-level phenotyping to identify mechanisms of neurodegenerative disease. bioRxiv. https://doi.org/10.64898/2026.10.26.761866

Vancouver

Jafarian A, Hughes LE, Naessens M, Rouse M, Cope TE, Holland N, et al. From group-level neurophysiological biomarkers to individual-level phenotyping to identify mechanisms of neurodegenerative disease. bioRxiv. 2026. doi:10.64898/2026.10.26.761866.

BibTeX

@article{jafarian2026-3c12a6ad,
  author  = {Jafarian, A. and Hughes, L. E. and Naessens, M. and Rouse, M. and Cope, T. E. and Holland, N. and Murley, A. G. and Tan Yong Wei, S. and others},
  title   = {{From group-level neurophysiological biomarkers to individual-level phenotyping to identify mechanisms of neurodegenerative disease}},
  journal = {bioRxiv},
  year    = {2026},
  doi     = {10.64898/2026.10.26.761866},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.64898/2026.10.26.761866}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 16/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 2 of 10; Journal's citation record 0 of 4; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 4 of 10; How recent 5 of 5; Sample size 1 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 1 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. 17 of the 62 points it could be judged on, which is 27 of 100. Raw total 27 of 100, shown as 16 because this is not a peer-reviewed research article.raw total 27 of 100capped at 16 — hatched points do not count

Preprint — not yet peer-reviewed. It scored 27 on the same rubric, but non-peer-reviewed sources are capped at 16, so it shows as 16. Scored zero for study design, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 17 of the 62 points we could judge it on, which is 27 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 2 / 10 Tier 4 — not a peer-reviewed journal (bioRxiv)
Journal's citation record 0 / 4 Not a journal article, so the journal's record does not count
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 4 / 10 Preprint — not yet peer-reviewed. Hosted on a preprint server.
How recent 5 / 5 2026 — within 1 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 1 / 4 45 participants
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 1 / 2 Not in PubMed, but has a DOI
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Points 17 / 62 Scored on 12 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 17 of the 62 points we could judge it on is 27 out of 100.
Total 27 / 100 Capped to 16 because this is not a peer-reviewed article.

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Related studies in Brain scans and imaging

Also tagged “connectivity”

187 studies in the library carry the topic tag “connectivity”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 187 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Brain scans and imaging

See all studies in Brain scans and imaging →