Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 63 out of 100. Getting a diagnosis

Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis

Distinguishing Alzheimer's disease (AD) and frontotemporal dementia (FTD) currently relies on a clinical history and examination, but positron emission tomography with [(18)F] fluorodeoxyglucose (FDG-PET) shows different patterns of hypometabolism in these disorders that might aid differential diagnosis. Six dementia experts with variable FDG-PET experience made independent, forced choice, diagnostic decisions in 45 patients with pathologically confirmed AD (n = 31) or FTD (n = 14) using five separate methods: (1) review of clinical summaries, (2) a diagnostic checklist alone, (3) summary and checklist, (4) transaxial FDG-PET scans and (5) FDG-PET stereotactic surface projection (SSP) metabolic and statistical maps. In addition, we evaluated the effect of the sequential review of a clinical summary followed by SSP. Visual interpretation of SSP images was superior to clinical assessment and had the best inter-rater reliability (mean kappa = 0.78) and diagnostic accuracy (89.6%). It also had the highest specificity (97.6%) and sensitivity (86%), and positive likelihood ratio for FTD (36.5). The addition of FDG-PET to clinical summaries increased diagnostic accuracy and confidence for both AD and FTD. It was particularly helpful when raters were uncertain in their clinical diagnosis. Visual interpretation of FDG-PET after brief training is more reliable and accurate in distinguishing FTD from AD than clinical methods alone. FDG-PET adds important information that appropriately increases diagnostic confidence, even among experienced dementia specialists.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Foster, N. L., Heidebrink, J. L., Clark, C. M., Jagust, W. J., Arnold, S. E., Barbas, N. R., et al. (2007). FDG-PET improves accuracy in distinguishing frontotemporal dementia and Alzheimer's disease. Brain : a journal of neurology. https://doi.org/10.1093/brain/awm177

Vancouver

Foster NL, Heidebrink JL, Clark CM, Jagust WJ, Arnold SE, Barbas NR, et al. FDG-PET improves accuracy in distinguishing frontotemporal dementia and Alzheimer's disease. Brain : a journal of neurology. 2007. doi:10.1093/brain/awm177. PMID: 17704526.

BibTeX

@article{foster2007-17704526,
  author  = {Foster, N. L. and Heidebrink, J. L. and Clark, C. M. and Jagust, W. J. and Arnold, S. E. and Barbas, N. R. and DeCarli, C. S. and Turner, R. S. and others},
  title   = {{FDG-PET improves accuracy in distinguishing frontotemporal dementia and Alzheimer's disease}},
  journal = {Brain : a journal of neurology},
  year    = {2007},
  doi     = {10.1093/brain/awm177},
  pmid    = {17704526},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1093/brain/awm177}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Why it matters

In 45 patients whose diagnosis was later confirmed by brain tissue (31 Alzheimer's, 14 frontotemporal dementia), six dementia experts chose between the two diagnoses more reliably and accurately from FDG-PET brain-metabolism maps (89.6% accuracy) than from clinical information alone, and adding the scan to a clinical summary helped most when they were unsure. The study only compared these two diagnoses, used expert readers and a small FTD group, and is a diagnostic aid — it does not treat, cure or prevent Alzheimer's disease.

Study details

How this study scored 63/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 9 of 10; Journal's citation record 4 of 4; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 1 of 5; Sample size 1 of 4; Effect reported 2 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited 6 of 7; Citations per year 4 of 5; Impact for its field and year 5 of 6; Cited by studies here 4 of 6; Still being cited 3 of 4; Senior author's track record 3 of 4; Institution's track record 3 of 3; Multi-centre collaboration 2 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. Total 63 of 100.63 of 100 points earned37 not earned

Published in a leading specialty journal. Scored zero for study design and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 9 / 10 Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (Brain : a journal of neurology)
Journal's citation record 4 / 4 Brain: journal h-index 503 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29)
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 1 / 5 2007 — within 20 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 1 / 4 31 participants
Effect reported 2 / 3 Effect reported as a number, without an interval or test
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited 6 / 7 Cited 612 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10)
Citations per year 4 / 5 29.1 citations a year over 21 year(s) since 2007
Impact for its field and year 5 / 6 Cited 23.5× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI)
Cited by studies here 4 / 6 Cited by 40 other studies in this library
Still being cited 3 / 4 Cited 57 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex)
Senior author's track record 3 / 4 Last-listed author Satoshi Minoshima: h-index 89 (OpenAlex, whole career)
Institution's track record 3 / 3 University of Washington: institution h-index 3,540 (OpenAlex)
Multi-centre collaboration 2 / 3 OpenAlex lists 7 institution(s) in 1 country
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 17704526)
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Total 63 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

May need a subscription OpenAlex found no free copy of the full text (checked 6 Feb 1020), so the publisher may charge for it. The PubMed abstract is free.

Studies this one cites

Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here. Showing 12 of 17.

Later studies that cite this one

40 studies in the alzhub library list this one in their references. Showing the 8 highest-scoring.

Related studies in Getting a diagnosis

Also tagged “classification”

835 studies in the library carry the topic tag “classification”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 835 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Getting a diagnosis

See all studies in Getting a diagnosis →