Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 41 out of 100. Biomarkers

Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis

Objectives We previously analysed the preparedness to deliver a disease-modifying Alzheimer's treatment in the United Kingdom and predicted substantial wait times. This study updates the prediction for the National Health Service (NHS) in England, using an improved model and newer data. Methods We reviewed published data on capacity for diagnosis of cognitive impairment combined with expert input and constructed a model for wait times to access from 2023 to 2043. The model tracks patients from initial evaluation in primary care, cognitive testing by a dementia specialist, confirmatory biomarker testing with positron emission tomography (PET) scans or examination of cerebrospinal fluid and infusion delivery. Capacity for specialist visits and PET scans are assumed to be capacity constrained, and cerebrospinal fluid testing and infusion delivery to be scalable. Results Capacity constraints were projected to result in substantial wait times: patients referred to specialists based on a brief cognitive test, which is the current standard of care, would expect an overall initial wait times of 56 months in 2023, increasing to 129 months in 2029 and then falling slowly to around 100 months. Use of a blood test for the confirmation of Alzheimer's pathology as an additional triage step, would reduce wait times to around 17 to 25 months. Discussion The NHS England lacks capacity to provide timely access to a disease-modifying treatment, which is estimated to result in significant wait times and potentially avoidable disease progression. Better diagnostic tools at initial evaluation may reduce delays.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Mattke, S., Tang, Y., & Hanson, M. (2024). Expected wait times for access to a disease-modifying Alzheimer's treatment in England: A modelling study. Journal of health services research & policy. https://doi.org/10.1177/13558196231211141

Vancouver

Mattke S, Tang Y, Hanson M. Expected wait times for access to a disease-modifying Alzheimer's treatment in England: A modelling study. Journal of health services research & policy. 2024. doi:10.1177/13558196231211141. PMID: 37931615.

BibTeX

@article{mattke2024-37931615,
  author  = {Mattke, S. and Tang, Y. and Hanson, M.},
  title   = {{Expected wait times for access to a disease-modifying Alzheimer's treatment in England: A modelling study}},
  journal = {Journal of health services research \& policy},
  year    = {2024},
  doi     = {10.1177/13558196231211141},
  pmid    = {37931615},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1177/13558196231211141}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 41/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 4 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 0 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. 24 of the 58 points it could be judged on, which is 41 of 100. Total 41 of 100.24 of the 58 points we could judge = 41 of 100

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 24 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 41 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Journal of health services research & policy)
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 4 / 5 2024 — within 3 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 0 / 3 Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 37931615)
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Points 24 / 58 Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 24 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 41 out of 100.
Total 41 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Related studies in Biomarkers

Also in Biomarkers

208 studies in the library are filed under Biomarkers with no topic tag they share with another; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed tour of them. The Biomarkers hub.

Similar studies

More on Biomarkers

See all studies in Biomarkers →