Home › Research › Brain scans and imaging
Exercise and retinal health
Hong-Ying Li, Sheng-Sheng Rong, Xi Hong, Rui Guo, Feng-Zhen Yang, Yi-Yao Liang, Ang Li, Kwok-Fai So. Restorative neurology and neuroscience, 2019
Topic: Gut, metabolism and diet
Many ocular diseases (such as glaucoma, diabetic retinopathy, age-related macular degeneration, and traumatic eye injuries) can result in the degeneration of retinal cells and the subsequent loss of vision. Some kinds of treatments, such as drugs, stem cell transplantation and surgery are reported to be effective in certain patients. However, no confirmatively effective, convenient and low-price intervention has been available so far. Physical exercise has been reported to exert neuroprotective effects on several neurodegenerative diseases, including Parkinson's disease and Alzheimer's disease. Studies investigating the potential impacts of exercise on retinal diseases are rapidly emerging. Here we review these up-to-date findings from both human and animal studies, and discuss the possible mechanisms underlying exercise-elicited protection on retina.
Key findings
- Many ocular diseases (such as glaucoma, diabetic retinopathy, age-related macular degeneration, and traumatic eye injuries) can result in the degeneration of retinal cells and the subsequent loss of vision.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Brain scans & tests →
Study details
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 39/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record, multi-centre collaboration and free to read, so those were left out: it earned 22 of the 56 points we could judge it on, which is 39 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Restorative neurology and neuroscience) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 2 / 5 | 2019 — within 10 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 0 / 4 | Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 0 / 3 | Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 31796710) |
| Free to read | — / 2 | Access not recorded — left out of this score |
| Points | 22 / 56 | Scored on 10 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 22 of the 56 points we could judge it on is 39 out of 100. |
| Total | 39 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record names 8 authors; APA and Vancouver show the first six, BibTeX and the downloads carry all of them. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
APA 7th
Li, H.-Y., Rong, S.-S., Hong, X., Guo, R., Yang, F.-Z., Liang, Y.-Y., et al. (2019). Exercise and retinal health. Restorative neurology and neuroscience. https://doi.org/10.3233/rnn-190945
Vancouver
Li H.-Y, Rong S.-S, Hong X, Guo R, Yang F.-Z, Liang Y.-Y, et al. Exercise and retinal health. Restorative neurology and neuroscience. 2019. doi:10.3233/rnn-190945. PMID: 31796710.
BibTeX
@article{li2019-31796710,
author = {Li, Hong-Ying and Rong, Sheng-Sheng and Hong, Xi and Guo, Rui and Yang, Feng-Zhen and Liang, Yi-Yao and Li, Ang and So, Kwok-Fai},
title = {{Exercise and retinal health}},
journal = {Restorative neurology and neuroscience},
year = {2019},
doi = {10.3233/rnn-190945},
pmid = {31796710},
url = {https://doi.org/10.3233/rnn-190945}
}
Related studies in Brain scans and imaging
Also tagged “exercise-training”
125 studies in the library carry the topic tag “exercise-training”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 125 tagged studies.