Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 48 out of 100. Clinical safety

Topic: Risk, prevention and care in population studies

Memory clinics have been promoted as opportunities for improving dementia diagnosis and care. This article describes the implementation of an interdisciplinary memory clinic within primary care in Ontario, Canada, that aims to provide timely access to comprehensive assessment and care and to improve referring physicians' knowledge of the management of dementia through collaborative care and practice-based mentorship. Between July 2006 and September 2009, 246 initial and follow-up assessments were conducted with 151 patients, a high proportion of whom received a new diagnosis of mild cognitive impairment (44.4%) or dementia (19.2%). A trial of cholinesterase inhibitors was recommended for almost all patients newly diagnosed with dementia. Management interventions and recommendations included social worker outreach, long-term care planning, home safety or driving assessments, referral to community resources, and periodic follow-up and monitoring. A small proportion of patients (7.8%) were referred to a specialist. Surveyed patients and caregivers were very satisfied with their visit to the clinic. A chart audit conducted by two independent geriatricians indicated agreement with diagnosis and intervention, particularly related to use of specialists. The results indicate that memory clinics within primary care settings can support capacity building to ensure quality assessment and management of dementia at a primary care level.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 48/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 1 of 5; Sample size 2 of 4; Effect reported 2 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. 28 of the 58 points it could be judged on, which is 48 of 100. Total 48 of 100.28 of the 58 points we could judge = 48 of 100

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 28 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 48 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Journal of the American Geriatrics Society)
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 1 / 5 2010 — within 20 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 2 / 4 151 participants
Effect reported 2 / 3 Effect reported as a number, without an interval or test
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 20977435)
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Points 28 / 58 Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 28 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 48 out of 100.
Total 48 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record names 7 authors; APA and Vancouver show the first six, BibTeX and the downloads carry all of them. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Lee, L., Hillier, L. M., Stolee, P., Heckman, G., Gagnon, M., McAiney, C. A., et al. (2010). Enhancing dementia care: a primary care-based memory clinic. Journal of the American Geriatrics Society. https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1532-5415.2010.03130.x

Vancouver

Lee L, Hillier LM, Stolee P, Heckman G, Gagnon M, McAiney CA, et al. Enhancing dementia care: a primary care-based memory clinic. Journal of the American Geriatrics Society. 2010. doi:10.1111/j.1532-5415.2010.03130.x. PMID: 20977435.

BibTeX

@article{lee2010-20977435,
  author  = {Lee, L. and Hillier, L. M. and Stolee, P. and Heckman, G. and Gagnon, M. and McAiney, C. A. and Harvey, D.},
  title   = {{Enhancing dementia care: a primary care-based memory clinic}},
  journal = {Journal of the American Geriatrics Society},
  year    = {2010},
  doi     = {10.1111/j.1532-5415.2010.03130.x},
  pmid    = {20977435},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1532-5415.2010.03130.x}
}

Related studies in Clinical safety

Similar studies

More on Clinical safety

See all studies in Clinical safety →