Home › Research › Biomarkers
Diagnostic Accuracy of Plasma p-tau217 for Detecting Pathological Cerebrospinal Fluid Changes in Cognitively Unimpaired Subjects Using the Lumipulse Platform
Martínez-Dubarbie F, Guerra-Ruiz A, López-García S, Lage C, Fernández-Matarrubia M, Infante J, Pozueta-Cantudo A, García-Martínez M et al.. The journal of prevention of Alzheimer's disease, 2024-01-01
Topic: Brain proteins, microglia and lab models
Background Plasma biomarkers of Alzheimer's disease (AD), especially p-tau217, are promising tools to identify subjects with amyloid deposition in the brain, determined either by cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) or positron emission tomography. However, it is essential to measure them in an accurate and fully automated way in order to apply them in clinical practice. Objectives To evaluate the diagnostic performance of the fully-automated Lumipulse plasma p-tau217 assay in preclinical AD. Design Cross-sectional analyses from a prospective cohort. Setting A population-based study. Participants Volunteers over 55 years without cognitive impairment or contraindications for complementary tests. Measurements Plasma p-tau217 was measured with the fully-automated Lumipulse assay, as well as CSF Aβ40, Aβ42, p-tau181, and t-tau levels. We correlated plasma p-tau217 with CSF Aβ40, Aβ42 and p-tau181, and assessed the differences in plasma p-tau217 according to CSF amyloid status (A-/+), AD status (AD+ being those subjects A+T+ and AD- the rest) and ATN group. We performed ROC curves and measured the areas under the curve (AUC) using CSF amyloid as result, and both p-tau217 and ApoE4 status as predictor. Results We screened 209 cognitively unimpaired volunteers with a mean age 64 years (60-69) and 30.2% of ApoE4 carriers. Plasma p-tau217 correlated significantly with CSF Aβ42/Aβ40 (Rho=-0.51; p-value<0.001) and p-tau181 (r=0.59; p-value<0.001). Its levels were significantly higher in A+ subjects (0.26 pg/ml) compared with A- (0.12 pg/ml; p-value<0.001); and along ATN groups. It predicts CSF amyloid pathology with an AUC of 0.85. Conclusions Plasma p-tau217 measured using the Lumipulse platform shows promise as an accurate biomarker of preclinical AD pathology.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Martínez-Dubarbie, F., Guerra-Ruiz, A., López-García, S., Lage, C., Fernández-Matarrubia, M., Infante, J., et al. (2024). Diagnostic Accuracy of Plasma p-tau217 for Detecting Pathological Cerebrospinal Fluid Changes in Cognitively Unimpaired Subjects Using the Lumipulse Platform. The journal of prevention of Alzheimer's disease. https://doi.org/10.14283/jpad.2024.152
Vancouver
Martínez-Dubarbie F, Guerra-Ruiz A, López-García S, Lage C, Fernández-Matarrubia M, Infante J, et al. Diagnostic Accuracy of Plasma p-tau217 for Detecting Pathological Cerebrospinal Fluid Changes in Cognitively Unimpaired Subjects Using the Lumipulse Platform. The journal of prevention of Alzheimer's disease. 2024. doi:10.14283/jpad.2024.152. PMID: 39559871.
BibTeX
@article{martinezdubarbie2024-39559871,
author = {Martínez-Dubarbie, F. and Guerra-Ruiz, A. and López-García, S. and Lage, C. and Fernández-Matarrubia, M. and Infante, J. and Pozueta-Cantudo, A. and García-Martínez, M. and others},
title = {{Diagnostic Accuracy of Plasma p-tau217 for Detecting Pathological Cerebrospinal Fluid Changes in Cognitively Unimpaired Subjects Using the Lumipulse Platform}},
journal = {The journal of prevention of Alzheimer's disease},
year = {2024},
doi = {10.14283/jpad.2024.152},
pmid = {39559871},
url = {https://doi.org/10.14283/jpad.2024.152}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- We performed ROC curves and measured the areas under the curve (AUC) using CSF amyloid as result, and both p-tau217 and ApoE4 status as predictor.
- Results We screened 209 cognitively unimpaired volunteers with a mean age 64 years (60-69) and 30.2% of ApoE4 carriers.
- Plasma p-tau217 correlated significantly with CSF Aβ42/Aβ40 (Rho=-0.51; p-value<0.001) and p-tau181 (r=0.59; p-value<0.001).
- Its levels were significantly higher in A+ subjects (0.26 pg/ml) compared with A- (0.12 pg/ml; p-value<0.001); and along ATN groups.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Blood tests & biomarkers →
Study details
- Study designprospective cohort
- Effect size30.2%
- Evidence strengthModerate
How this study scored 64/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal, and it is a prospective cohort study, followed forward from enrollment. Scored zero for sample size, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 37 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 64 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (The journal of prevention of Alzheimer's disease) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 7 / 12 | A prospective cohort study, followed forward from enrollment |
| Strength of evidence | 3 / 5 | Rated “moderate” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 4 / 5 | 2024 — within 3 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 0 / 4 | Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Effect reported | 2 / 3 | Effect reported as a number, without an interval or test |
| Studied in people | 0 / 3 | Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 39559871) |
| Free to read | 2 / 2 | Free to read |
| Points | 37 / 58 | Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 37 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 64 out of 100. |
| Total | 64 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Related studies in Biomarkers
Also tagged “diagnostic-accuracy”
3 studies in the library carry the topic tag “diagnostic-accuracy”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 3 tagged studies.