Home › Research › End-of-life care
Developing and Testing a Program to Strengthen the Dementia Palliative Care Trial Workforce
Ana‐Maria Vranceanu, Hannah Puttre, Sarah Stone, Kathryn I. Pollak, Jean S. Kutner, Christine Seel Ritchie. Journal of Pain and Symptom Management, 2025-12-30
Topic: Risk, prevention and care in population studies
Three cohorts of interdisciplinary scholars (N = 53) have started and two have completed DEM-PCCT. Program feasibility and satisfaction were high. Confidence and comfort conducting dementia clinical trials significantly improved (P-value <0.05 for both). Most scholars submitted at least one research grant application by program completion, and secured funding. Scholars report continued productivity in grants and publications. DEM-PCCT is a novel national training model that advances dementia palliative care by combining didactic training, experiential learning and structured grant development. Thus, DEM-PCCT builds the scientific workforce and serves as a model to accelerate evidence-based dementia palliative care interventions.
Key findings
- Three cohorts of interdisciplinary scholars (N = 53) have started and two have completed DEM-PCCT.
- Program feasibility and satisfaction were high.
- Confidence and comfort conducting dementia clinical trials significantly improved (P-value <0.05 for both).
- Most scholars submitted at least one research grant application by program completion, and secured funding.
- Scholars report continued productivity in grants and publications.
Why it matters
This program trained 53 interdisciplinary scholars in dementia palliative care clinical trials, and participants' confidence and comfort conducting such trials improved significantly, with most securing research funding. It builds research workforce capacity for palliative care studies and does not itself test any treatment, cure, or prevention for Alzheimer's disease.
Study details
- Study designlongitudinal study
- Participants53
- Evidence strengthModerate
How this study scored 49/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal, and it is a longitudinal study following the same people over time. Scored zero for effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Journal of Pain and Symptom Management) |
| Journal's citation record | 2 / 4 | Journal of Pain and Symptom Management: journal h-index 213 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29) |
| Study design | 7 / 12 | A longitudinal study following the same people over time |
| Strength of evidence | 3 / 5 | Rated “moderate” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 4 / 5 | 2025 — within 3 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 1 / 4 | 53 participants |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (participant count stated) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | 0 / 7 | Cited 0 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10) |
| Citations per year | 0 / 5 | 0.0 citations a year over 3 year(s) since 2025 |
| Impact for its field and year | 0 / 6 | Cited 0.0× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI) |
| Cited by studies here | 0 / 6 | No other study in this library cites it |
| Still being cited | 0 / 4 | Cited 0 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex) |
| Senior author's track record | 3 / 4 | Last-listed author Christine Seel Ritchie: h-index 60 (OpenAlex, whole career) |
| Institution's track record | 3 / 3 | Harvard University: institution h-index 3,235 (OpenAlex) |
| Multi-centre collaboration | 2 / 3 | OpenAlex lists 6 institution(s) in 1 country |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 41478422) |
| Free to read | 2 / 2 | Free to read |
| Total | 49 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
- DOI: 10.1016/j.jpainsymman.2025.12.020
- PubMed: 41478422
- Original source →
- Free full text: Journal of Pain and Symptom Management →
Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
APA 7th
Vranceanu, A., Puttre, H., Stone, S., Pollak, K. I., Kutner, J. S., & Ritchie, C. S. (2025). Developing and Testing a Program to Strengthen the Dementia Palliative Care Trial Workforce. Journal of Pain and Symptom Management. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jpainsymman.2025.12.020
Vancouver
Vranceanu A, Puttre H, Stone S, Pollak KI, Kutner JS, Ritchie CS. Developing and Testing a Program to Strengthen the Dementia Palliative Care Trial Workforce. Journal of Pain and Symptom Management. 2025. doi:10.1016/j.jpainsymman.2025.12.020. PMID: 41478422.
BibTeX
@article{vranceanu2025-41478422,
author = {Vranceanu, Ana‐Maria and Puttre, Hannah and Stone, Sarah and Pollak, Kathryn I. and Kutner, Jean S. and Ritchie, Christine Seel},
title = {{Developing and Testing a Program to Strengthen the Dementia Palliative Care Trial Workforce}},
journal = {Journal of Pain and Symptom Management},
year = {2025},
doi = {10.1016/j.jpainsymman.2025.12.020},
pmid = {41478422},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jpainsymman.2025.12.020}
}