Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 59 out of 100. Biomarkers

Topic: Plasma and spinal-fluid biomarkers

Background Plasma phospho-tau 217 (pTau217) assays can accurately detect Alzheimer's disease (AD) pathology, but clinical application is limited by the need for specialised equipment. This study tests the performance of a plasma pTau217 assay performed on the Lumipulse-G® platform, that is in widespread clinical use, for selecting patients for therapy based on β-amyloid (Aβ) status and tau staging. Methods Participants included 388 individuals with 18 F-NAV4694 Aβ-PET and 18 F-MK6240 tau-PET. Association of pTau217 with PET was examined using Spearman's correlation. Discriminative performance for Aβ and tau PET status as well as tau staging was assessed using Receiver Operating Characteristic analysis. Findings Plasma pTau217 had a high correlation with both Aβ Centiloid (r = 0.76) and tau SUVR meta-temporal (r = 0.78). Area under curve (AUC) was 0.93 for Aβ- vs Aβ+ and 0.94 for tau- vs tau+. Applying one threshold (Youden's index), pTau217 was 87% accurate in classification of participants to Aβ- vs Aβ+. Applying two thresholds to classify participants into Low, Indeterminate, and High zones, 17.8% had Indeterminate results and among Low/High zone participants, 92% were correctly classified as Aβ- or Aβ+. The assay accurately discriminated moderate/high neocortical tau from no tau or tau limited to mesial-temporal lobe (AUC 0.97) and high neocortical tau from all others (AUC 0.94). Interpretation Plasma pTau217, measured by the widely-available, fully-automated Lumipulse®, was a strong predictor of both Aβ and tau PET status and demonstrated strong predictive power in identifying individuals likely to benefit the most from anti-Aβ treatments. Funding NHMRC grants 1132604, 1140853, 1152623 and AbbVie.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 59/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 4 of 5; Sample size 2 of 4; Effect reported 3 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 2 of 2. 34 of the 58 points it could be judged on, which is 59 of 100. Total 59 of 100.34 of the 58 points we could judge = 59 of 100

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 34 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 59 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (EBioMedicine)
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 4 / 5 2024 — within 3 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 2 / 4 388 participants
Effect reported 3 / 3 Effect reported with a statistic (interval, p-value, ratio or similar)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 39437657)
Free to read 2 / 2 Free to read
Points 34 / 58 Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 34 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 59 out of 100.
Total 59 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Feizpour, A., Doecke, J. D., Doré, V., Krishnadas, N., Huang, K., Bourgeat, P., et al. (2024). Detection and staging of Alzheimer's disease by plasma pTau217 on a high throughput immunoassay platform. EBioMedicine. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ebiom.2024.105405

Vancouver

Feizpour A, Doecke JD, Doré V, Krishnadas N, Huang K, Bourgeat P, et al. Detection and staging of Alzheimer's disease by plasma pTau217 on a high throughput immunoassay platform. EBioMedicine. 2024. doi:10.1016/j.ebiom.2024.105405. PMID: 39437657.

BibTeX

@article{feizpour2024-39437657,
  author  = {Feizpour, A. and Doecke, J. D. and Doré, V. and Krishnadas, N. and Huang, K. and Bourgeat, P. and Laws, S. M. and Fowler, C. and others},
  title   = {{Detection and staging of Alzheimer's disease by plasma pTau217 on a high throughput immunoassay platform}},
  journal = {EBioMedicine},
  year    = {2024},
  doi     = {10.1016/j.ebiom.2024.105405},
  pmid    = {39437657},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ebiom.2024.105405}
}

Related studies in Biomarkers

Similar studies

More on Biomarkers

See all studies in Biomarkers →