Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 40 out of 100. Drug development

Topic: Brain proteins, microglia and lab models

We describe a clinico-pathological variant of a degenerative disorder involving Broca's, Wernicke's, and supplementary motor areas, which presented as primary progressive aphasia, dysarthria, bucco-facial apraxia, and hearing loss as initial symptoms, followed by organic personality changes. Postmortem examination revealed severe focal atrophy of the cerebral convolutions in the frontal operculum, superior frontal gyrus, and superior and transverse temporal gyri in addition to diffuse atrophy of the frontal and temporal lobes in both hemispheres. Microscopical examination revealed argyrophilic neuronal inclusions (ANIs) in the neuronal perikarya and presynaptic terminal throughout the central nervous system, as well as neuronal loss and swollen chromatolytic neurons in the affected cortices.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Arima, K., Uesugi, H., Fujita, I., Sakurai, Y., Oyanagi, S., Andoh, S., et al. (1994). Corticonigral degeneration with neuronal achromasia presenting with primary progressive aphasia: ultrastructural and immunocytochemical studies. Journal of the neurological sciences. https://doi.org/10.1016/0022-510x(94)90072-8

Vancouver

Arima K, Uesugi H, Fujita I, Sakurai Y, Oyanagi S, Andoh S, et al. Corticonigral degeneration with neuronal achromasia presenting with primary progressive aphasia: ultrastructural and immunocytochemical studies. Journal of the neurological sciences. 1994. doi:10.1016/0022-510x(94)90072-8. PMID: 7707078.

BibTeX

@article{arima1994-7707078,
  author  = {Arima, K. and Uesugi, H. and Fujita, I. and Sakurai, Y. and Oyanagi, S. and Andoh, S. and Izumiyama, Y. and Inose, T.},
  title   = {{Corticonigral degeneration with neuronal achromasia presenting with primary progressive aphasia: ultrastructural and immunocytochemical studies}},
  journal = {Journal of the neurological sciences},
  year    = {1994},
  doi     = {10.1016/0022-510x(94)90072-8},
  pmid    = {7707078},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1016/0022-510x(94)90072-8}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record names 8 authors; APA and Vancouver show the first six, BibTeX and the downloads carry all of them. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Why it matters

This is a clinico-pathological case description of a degenerative disorder presenting as primary progressive aphasia, with postmortem findings of focal atrophy and argyrophilic neuronal inclusions. It describes one variant's pathology and does not report a treatment, cure or prevention for Alzheimer's disease.

Study details

How this study scored 40/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record 2 of 4; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 1 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited 4 of 7; Citations per year 1 of 5; Impact for its field and year 2 of 6; Cited by studies here 2 of 6; Still being cited 0 of 4; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record 1 of 3; Multi-centre collaboration 2 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. 38 of the 96 points it could be judged on, which is 40 of 100. Total 40 of 100.38 of the 96 points we could judge = 40 of 100

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on senior author's track record, so that was left out: it earned 38 of the 96 points we could judge it on, which is 40 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Journal of the neurological sciences)
Journal's citation record 2 / 4 Journal of the Neurological Sciences: journal h-index 233 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29)
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 1 / 5 1994 — older than 20 years, still counted
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (pubmed indexes it as a clinical or observational study)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited 4 / 7 Cited 63 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10)
Citations per year 1 / 5 1.9 citations a year over 34 year(s) since 1994
Impact for its field and year 2 / 6 Cited 2.3× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI)
Cited by studies here 2 / 6 Cited by 5 other studies in this library
Still being cited 0 / 4 Cited 0 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex)
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record 1 / 3 The University of Tokyo: institution h-index 1,463 (OpenAlex)
Multi-centre collaboration 2 / 3 OpenAlex lists 5 institution(s) in 1 country
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 7707078)
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Points 38 / 96 Scored on 19 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 38 of the 96 points we could judge it on is 40 out of 100.
Total 40 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

May need a subscription OpenAlex found no free copy of the full text (checked 6 Feb 1020), so the publisher may charge for it. The PubMed abstract is free.

Studies this one cites

Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here.

Later studies that cite this one

5 studies in the alzhub library list this one in their references.

Related studies in Drug development

Also tagged “vessel”

900 studies in the library carry the topic tag “vessel”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 900 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Drug development

See all studies in Drug development →