Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 69 out of 100. Cognitive tests and assessment

Topic: Risk, prevention and care in population studies

Background A growing number of older adults experience mild cognitive impairment (MCI) and dementia. Recent technological advances allow for traditional cognitive interventions to be administered via computers and other devices. The aim of the proposed systematic review and meta-analyses is to determine the efficacy of computerised cognitive interventions for MCI and dementia in older adults. Methods We will systematically search electronic databases and reference lists to identify randomised controlled trials. We will include studies that examine the use of computer-based cognitive interventions for adults aged over 60 with MCI or dementia. Primarily outcomes are global and domain-specific cognitive function. Secondary outcomes are attitudes (usability, understandability, acceptability of the intervention), mood and quality of life. Risk of bias will be assessed. Finally, the summary effect sizes will be reported. Discussion This systematic review will summarise existing high-quality primary studies on computerised-cognitive interventions for MCI and dementia. Results from this review will provide the basis for future research in developing computer-based interventions for this population. Systematic review registration PROSPERO CRD42016050236.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Al Mahmud, A., Slikboer, R., Stargatt, J., & Bhar, S. (2019). Computer-based cognitive interventions for mild cognitive impairment and dementia in older adults: protocol for a systematic review of published studies and meta-analysis. Systematic reviews. https://doi.org/10.1186/s13643-019-1146-x

Vancouver

Al Mahmud A, Slikboer R, Stargatt J, Bhar S. Computer-based cognitive interventions for mild cognitive impairment and dementia in older adults: protocol for a systematic review of published studies and meta-analysis. Systematic reviews. 2019. doi:10.1186/s13643-019-1146-x. PMID: 31492180.

BibTeX

@article{almahmud2019-31492180,
  author  = {Al Mahmud, A. and Slikboer, R. and Stargatt, J. and Bhar, S.},
  title   = {{Computer-based cognitive interventions for mild cognitive impairment and dementia in older adults: protocol for a systematic review of published studies and meta-analysis}},
  journal = {Systematic reviews},
  year    = {2019},
  doi     = {10.1186/s13643-019-1146-x},
  pmid    = {31492180},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1186/s13643-019-1146-x}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 69/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 12 of 12; Strength of evidence 5 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 2 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 0 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 2 of 2. 40 of the 58 points it could be judged on, which is 69 of 100. Total 69 of 100.40 of the 58 points we could judge = 69 of 100

Published in a peer-reviewed journal, and it is a systematic review of all the studies on the question. Scored zero for sample size, effect reported and studied in people because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 40 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 69 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Systematic reviews)
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 12 / 12 A systematic review of all the studies on the question
Strength of evidence 5 / 5 Rated “high” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 2 / 5 2019 — within 10 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 0 / 3 Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 A review of other studies — randomisation is not credited here
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 31492180)
Free to read 2 / 2 Free to read
Points 40 / 58 Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 40 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 69 out of 100.
Total 69 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Related studies in Cognitive tests and assessment

Also tagged “protocol”

4 studies in the library carry the topic tag “protocol”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 4 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Cognitive tests and assessment

See all studies in Cognitive tests and assessment →