Home › Research › Costs and economics
Cognitive stimulation therapy for people with dementia: cost-effectiveness analysis
Knapp M, Thorgrimsen L, Patel A, Spector A, Hallam A, Woods B, Orrell M.. The British journal of psychiatry : the journal of mental science, 2006-06-01
Topic: Health services, long-term care and technology
Background Psychological therapy groups for people with dementia are widely used, but their cost-effectiveness has not been explored. Aims To investigate the cost-effectiveness of an evidence-based cognitive stimulation therapy (CST) programme for people with dementia as part of a randomised controlled trial. Method A total of 91 people with dementia, living in care homes or the community, received a CST group intervention twice weekly for 8 weeks; 70 participants with dementia received treatment as usual. Service use was recorded 8 weeks before and during the 8-week intervention and costs were calculated. A cost-effectiveness analysis was conducted with cognition as the primary outcome, and quality of life as the secondary outcome. Cost-effectiveness acceptability curves were plotted. Results Cognitive stimulation therapy has benefits for cognition and quality of life in dementia, and costs were not different between the groups. Under reasonable assumptions, there is a high probability that CST is more cost-effective than treatment as usual, with regard to both outcome measures. Conclusions Cognitive stimulation therapy for people with dementia has effectiveness advantages over, and may be more cost-effective than, treatment as usual.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Knapp, M., Thorgrimsen, L., Patel, A., Spector, A., Hallam, A., Woods, B., et al. (2006). Cognitive stimulation therapy for people with dementia: cost-effectiveness analysis. The British journal of psychiatry : the journal of mental science. https://doi.org/10.1192/bjp.bp.105.010561
Vancouver
Knapp M, Thorgrimsen L, Patel A, Spector A, Hallam A, Woods B, et al. Cognitive stimulation therapy for people with dementia: cost-effectiveness analysis. The British journal of psychiatry : the journal of mental science. 2006. doi:10.1192/bjp.bp.105.010561. PMID: 16738349.
BibTeX
@article{knapp2006-16738349,
author = {Knapp, M. and Thorgrimsen, L. and Patel, A. and Spector, A. and Hallam, A. and Woods, B. and Orrell, M.},
title = {{Cognitive stimulation therapy for people with dementia: cost-effectiveness analysis}},
journal = {The British journal of psychiatry : the journal of mental science},
year = {2006},
doi = {10.1192/bjp.bp.105.010561},
pmid = {16738349},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1192/bjp.bp.105.010561}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record names 7 authors; APA and Vancouver show the first six, BibTeX and the downloads carry all of them. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- Results Cognitive stimulation therapy has benefits for cognition and quality of life in dementia, and costs were not different between the groups.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Costs & economics →
Study details
- Study designrandomized controlled trial
- Participants91
- Evidence strengthHigh
How this study scored 70/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal, and it is a randomised controlled trial. Scored zero for effect reported because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record and institution's track record, so those were left out: it earned 43 of the 61 points we could judge it on, which is 70 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (The British journal of psychiatry : the journal of mental science) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 11 / 12 | A randomised controlled trial |
| Strength of evidence | 5 / 5 | Rated “high” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 1 / 5 | 2006 — older than 20 years, still counted |
| Sample size | 1 / 4 | 91 participants |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (participant count stated) |
| Randomised / blinded | 1 / 2 | Randomised (as stated in the record) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | 2 / 3 | PubMed indexes it as a multicentre study |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 16738349) |
| Free to read | 0 / 2 | Behind a paywall — scores zero |
| Points | 43 / 61 | Scored on 12 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 43 of the 61 points we could judge it on is 70 out of 100. |
| Total | 70 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Related studies in Costs and economics
Also tagged “assisted-living”
199 studies in the library carry the topic tag “assisted-living”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 199 tagged studies.