Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 48 out of 100. Clinical safety

Topic: Risk, prevention and care in population studies

From the database searches, 4796 records were identified. After the removal of duplicates, 3513 records underwent title and abstract screening, with 344 records undergoing full-text screening. A final 32 records were included. From the grey literature search, 6593 records were reviewed for relevance, from which 62 records were included in full-text screening. No grey literature records were of high enough quality to be included. All studies were published in English, with most studies conducted in the USA, n=12/32 (37.5%). The 32 studies were quasi-experimental (n=18), randomised controlled trials (n=8), qualitative (n=4), expert opinion (n=1) and policy/consensus guidelines (n=1). Clinical checklists included structured protocols, algorithms and order sets, which were paper-based or part of electronic delirium order sets. People with dementia participated as key stakeholders for a guidance document during the COVID-19 pandemic, but the target population was not included in the development phase of other checklists. Target users of clinical checklists were usually healthcare staff and trained volunteers and rarely family carers and study intervention nurses. Four of the 32 studies included all 10 National Institute for Health and Care Excellence clinical factors/preventive strategies for non-pharmacological interventions. For the remaining 28 studies, missing domains varied and included: therapeutic/cognitive activity, hydration, nutrition, constipation, urinary catheterisation, hypoxia, infection, pain and medication review. Only two studies involved family carers as active partners in patient care. Reported formal economic analysis was limited. Codesign of future clinical checklists should involve patients and family carers. Further research is needed on the feasibility of using clinical checklists by all members of the interprofessional team and family carers, the factors needed to ensure high levels of adherence and sustainability of multicomponent non-pharmacological interventions for delirium management, in addition to economic evaluations. PROSPERO REGISTRATION: CRD42022342328.

Key findings

Why it matters

This rapid review examined clinical checklists of multicomponent non-pharmacological interventions for delirium management in non-ICU inpatient settings, finding that only four of 32 studies included all recommended preventive strategies. It describes the content and gaps of existing checklists and does not test any treatment, cure or prevention for Alzheimer's disease.

Study details

How this study scored 48/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record 2 of 4; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 5 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 5 of 5; Sample size 1 of 4; Effect reported 2 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited 1 of 7; Citations per year 0 of 5; Impact for its field and year 3 of 6; Cited by studies here 0 of 6; Still being cited 0 of 4; Senior author's track record 2 of 4; Institution's track record 1 of 3; Multi-centre collaboration 2 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 2 of 2. Total 48 of 100.48 of 100 points earned52 not earned

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (BMJ Open)
Journal's citation record 2 / 4 BMJ Open: journal h-index 240 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29)
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 5 / 5 Rated “high” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 5 / 5 2026 — within 1 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 1 / 4 12 participants
Effect reported 2 / 3 Effect reported as a number, without an interval or test
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited 1 / 7 Cited 1 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10)
Citations per year 0 / 5 0.5 citations a year over 2 year(s) since 2026
Impact for its field and year 3 / 6 Cited 5.6× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI)
Cited by studies here 0 / 6 No other study in this library cites it
Still being cited 0 / 4 Cited 1 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex)
Senior author's track record 2 / 4 Last-listed author Peter Gerard Lawlor: h-index 36 (OpenAlex, whole career)
Institution's track record 1 / 3 University of Ottawa: institution h-index 908 (OpenAlex)
Multi-centre collaboration 2 / 3 OpenAlex lists 6 institution(s) in 3 countries
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 42366006)
Free to read 2 / 2 Free to read
Total 48 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Bush, S. H., Kabir, M., French-Merkley, V., Sikora, L., Agar, M. R., Hosie, A., et al. (2026). Clinical checklists of multicomponent non-pharmacological interventions for delirium management in adult patients in non-ICU inpatient healthcare settings: a rapid review. BMJ Open. https://doi.org/10.1136/bmjopen-2025-105740

Vancouver

Bush SH, Kabir M, French-Merkley V, Sikora L, Agar MR, Hosie A, et al. Clinical checklists of multicomponent non-pharmacological interventions for delirium management in adult patients in non-ICU inpatient healthcare settings: a rapid review. BMJ Open. 2026. doi:10.1136/bmjopen-2025-105740. PMID: 42366006.

BibTeX

@article{bush2026-42366006,
  author  = {Bush, Shirley Harvey and Kabir, Monisha and French-Merkley, Véronique and Sikora, Lindsey and Agar, Meera Ruth and Hosie, Annmarie and Featherstone, Imogen and Isenberg, Sarina R. and others},
  title   = {{Clinical checklists of multicomponent non-pharmacological interventions for delirium management in adult patients in non-ICU inpatient healthcare settings: a rapid review}},
  journal = {BMJ Open},
  year    = {2026},
  doi     = {10.1136/bmjopen-2025-105740},
  pmid    = {42366006},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1136/bmjopen-2025-105740}
}

Studies this one cites

Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here.

Related studies in Clinical safety

Also tagged “delirium”

858 studies in the library carry the topic tag “delirium”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 858 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Clinical safety

See all studies in Clinical safety →