Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 50 out of 100. Long-term cohort studies

Topic: Brain proteins, microglia and lab models

Background There is accumulating evidence that synaptic loss precedes neuronal loss and correlates best with impaired memory formation in Alzheimer's disease (AD). Cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) synaptosomal-associated protein 25 (SNAP-25) is a newly discovered marker indicating synaptic damage. We here test CSF SNAP-25 and SNAP-25/amyloid-β42 (Aβ42) ratio as a diagnostic marker for predicting cognitive decline and brain structural change in the Alzheimer's Disease Neuroimaging Initiative (ADNI) database.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Zhang, H., Therriault, J., Kang, M. S., Ng, K. P., Pascoal, T. A., Rosa-Neto, P., et al. (2018). Cerebrospinal fluid synaptosomal-associated protein 25 is a key player in synaptic degeneration in mild cognitive impairment and Alzheimer's disease. Alzheimer's research & therapy. https://doi.org/10.1186/s13195-018-0407-6

Vancouver

Zhang H, Therriault J, Kang MS, Ng KP, Pascoal TA, Rosa-Neto P, et al. Cerebrospinal fluid synaptosomal-associated protein 25 is a key player in synaptic degeneration in mild cognitive impairment and Alzheimer's disease. Alzheimer's research & therapy. 2018. doi:10.1186/s13195-018-0407-6. PMID: 30115118.

BibTeX

@article{zhang2018-30115118,
  author  = {Zhang, H. and Therriault, J. and Kang, M. S. and Ng, K. P. and Pascoal, T. A. and Rosa-Neto, P. and Gauthier, S. and {Alzheimer’s Disease Neuroimaging Initiative}},
  title   = {{Cerebrospinal fluid synaptosomal-associated protein 25 is a key player in synaptic degeneration in mild cognitive impairment and Alzheimer's disease}},
  journal = {Alzheimer's research \& therapy},
  year    = {2018},
  doi     = {10.1186/s13195-018-0407-6},
  pmid    = {30115118},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1186/s13195-018-0407-6}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record names 8 authors; APA and Vancouver show the first six, BibTeX and the downloads carry all of them. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Why it matters

This study tested cerebrospinal fluid SNAP-25 and the SNAP-25/Aβ42 ratio as markers for predicting cognitive decline and brain structural change in ADNI. It evaluates diagnostic markers, so it does not provide a treatment, cure or prevention.

Study details

How this study scored 50/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record 1 of 4; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 2 of 5; Sample size 1 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited 4 of 7; Citations per year 3 of 5; Impact for its field and year 3 of 6; Cited by studies here 2 of 6; Still being cited 2 of 4; Senior author's track record 4 of 4; Institution's track record 1 of 3; Multi-centre collaboration 2 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 2 of 2. Total 50 of 100.50 of 100 points earned50 not earned

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Alzheimer's research & therapy)
Journal's citation record 1 / 4 Alzheimer s Research & Therapy: journal h-index 146 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29)
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 2 / 5 2018 — within 10 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 1 / 4 52 participants
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited 4 / 7 Cited 92 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10)
Citations per year 3 / 5 9.2 citations a year over 10 year(s) since 2018
Impact for its field and year 3 / 6 Cited 5.4× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI)
Cited by studies here 2 / 6 Cited by 8 other studies in this library
Still being cited 2 / 4 Cited 36 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex)
Senior author's track record 4 / 4 Last-listed author Serge G. Gauthier: h-index 121 (OpenAlex, whole career)
Institution's track record 1 / 3 McGill University: institution h-index 1,373 (OpenAlex)
Multi-centre collaboration 2 / 3 OpenAlex lists 4 institution(s) in 3 countries
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 30115118)
Free to read 2 / 2 Free to read
Total 50 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).

Studies this one cites

Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here.

Later studies that cite this one

8 studies in the alzhub library list this one in their references.

Related studies in Long-term cohort studies

Also tagged “tdp-43”

1,150 studies in the library carry the topic tag “tdp-43”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 1,150 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Long-term cohort studies

See all studies in Long-term cohort studies →