Home › Research › Biomarkers
Cerebrospinal Fluid Concentrations of Extracellular Matrix Proteins in Alzheimer's Disease
Minta K, Portelius E, Janelidze S, Hansson O, Zetterberg H, Blennow K, Andreasson U.. Journal of Alzheimer's disease : JAD, 2019-01-01
Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis
Background Brevican, neurocan, tenascin-C, and tenascin-R are extracellular matrix (ECM) proteins that are mainly expressed in the brain. They play important roles in proliferation and migration of neurons and other cell types in the brain. These ECM proteins may also be involved in various pathologies, including reactive gliosis. Objective The aim of the study was to investigate if ECM protein concentrations in cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) are linked to the neurodegenerative process in Alzheimer's disease (AD). Methods Lumbar CSF samples from a non-AD control group (n = 50) and a clinically diagnosed AD group (n = 42), matched for age and gender, were analyzed using commercially available ELISAs detecting ECM proteins. Mann-Whitney U test was used to examine group differences, while Spearman's rho test was used for correlations. Results Brevican, neurocan, tenascin-R, and tenascin-C concentrations in AD patients did not differ compared to healthy controls or when the groups were dichotomized based on the Aβ42/40 cut-off. CSF tenascin-C and tenascin-R concentrations were significantly higher in women than in men in the AD group (p = 0.02). Conclusion ECM proteins do not reflect AD-pathology in CSF. CSF tenascin-C and tenascin-R upregulation in women possibly reveal sexual dimorphism in the central nervous system immunity during AD.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Minta, K., Portelius, E., Janelidze, S., Hansson, O., Zetterberg, H., Blennow, K., et al. (2019). Cerebrospinal Fluid Concentrations of Extracellular Matrix Proteins in Alzheimer's Disease. Journal of Alzheimer's disease : JAD. https://doi.org/10.3233/jad-190187
Vancouver
Minta K, Portelius E, Janelidze S, Hansson O, Zetterberg H, Blennow K, et al. Cerebrospinal Fluid Concentrations of Extracellular Matrix Proteins in Alzheimer's Disease. Journal of Alzheimer's disease : JAD. 2019. doi:10.3233/jad-190187. PMID: 31156172.
BibTeX
@article{minta2019-31156172,
author = {Minta, K. and Portelius, E. and Janelidze, S. and Hansson, O. and Zetterberg, H. and Blennow, K. and Andreasson, U.},
title = {{Cerebrospinal Fluid Concentrations of Extracellular Matrix Proteins in Alzheimer's Disease}},
journal = {Journal of Alzheimer's disease : JAD},
year = {2019},
doi = {10.3233/jad-190187},
pmid = {31156172},
url = {https://doi.org/10.3233/jad-190187}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record names 7 authors; APA and Vancouver show the first six, BibTeX and the downloads carry all of them. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- Results Brevican, neurocan, tenascin-R, and tenascin-C concentrations in AD patients did not differ compared to healthy controls or when the groups were dichotomized based on the Aβ42/40 cut-off.
- CSF tenascin-C and tenascin-R concentrations were significantly higher in women than in men in the AD group (p = 0.02).
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Blood tests & biomarkers →
Study details
- Participants50
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 45/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 26 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 45 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Journal of Alzheimer's disease : JAD) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 2 / 5 | 2019 — within 10 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 1 / 4 | 50 participants |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (participant count stated) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 31156172) |
| Free to read | 0 / 2 | Behind a paywall — scores zero |
| Points | 26 / 58 | Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 26 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 45 out of 100. |
| Total | 45 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Related studies in Biomarkers
Also tagged “concentrations”
6 studies in the library carry the topic tag “concentrations”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 6 tagged studies.