Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

⚠ Preprint — not yet peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 16 out of 100. Prevention trials

Topic: Health services, long-term care and technology

From 12,770 records, 3,636 duplicates were removed and 9,134 titles and abstracts were screened. Of 108 reports sought for retrieval, 99 full texts were assessed and 11 studies were included. Evidence was unevenly distributed: eight tool families, representing 11 named tool versions/methods, were identified, five for malnutrition or feeding difficulty, three for dysphagia and none for sarcopenia. All tool families were single-domain; no dyadic or tri-domain instrument or pathway had dementia-sample psychometric evidence. Among diagnostic studies, the Eating Assessment Tool-10 showed area under the curve values of 0.96 for unsafe swallowing and 0.81 for aspiration against videofluoroscopic swallowing study, while the Mini Nutritional Assessment showed 60.00% sensitivity and 94.70% specificity against established nutritional criteria. Available evidence in dementia care is strongest for malnutrition and feeding-related assessment, with fewer dysphagia studies and no eligible sarcopenia tool validation. These findings support dementia-specific sarcopenia validation and integrated multi-domain approaches feasible for routine bedside practice. Protocol and registration: The review was guided by a prospectively developed protocol registered in the Open Science Framework database (https://osf.io/f47x9)

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 16/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 2 of 10; Journal's citation record 0 of 4; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 4 of 10; How recent 5 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 2 of 3; Studied in people 0 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 1 of 2; Free to read 2 of 2. 17 of the 62 points it could be judged on, which is 27 of 100. Raw total 27 of 100, shown as 16 because this is not a peer-reviewed research article.raw total 27 of 100capped at 16 — hatched points do not count

Preprint — not yet peer-reviewed. It scored 27 on the same rubric, but non-peer-reviewed sources are capped at 16, so it shows as 16. Scored zero for study design, sample size, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 17 of the 62 points we could judge it on, which is 27 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 2 / 10 Tier 4 — not a peer-reviewed journal (Research Square)
Journal's citation record 0 / 4 Not a journal article, so the journal's record does not count
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 4 / 10 Preprint — not yet peer-reviewed. Hosted on a preprint server.
How recent 5 / 5 2026 — within 1 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 2 / 3 Effect reported as a number, without an interval or test
Studied in people 0 / 3 Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 1 / 2 Not in PubMed, but has a DOI
Free to read 2 / 2 Free to read
Points 17 / 62 Scored on 12 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 17 of the 62 points we could judge it on is 27 out of 100.
Total 27 / 100 Capped to 16 because this is not a peer-reviewed article.

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Adeniji, T., Kolawole, F. O., Okemuo, A., Fawole, H. O., Akinrolie, O., McCartney, A., et al. (2026). Bedside screening and assessment tools for sarcopenia, dysphagia and malnutrition in older adults with dementia: a scoping review. Research Square. https://doi.org/10.21203/rs.3.rs-9920981/v1

Vancouver

Adeniji T, Kolawole FO, Okemuo A, Fawole HO, Akinrolie O, McCartney A, et al. Bedside screening and assessment tools for sarcopenia, dysphagia and malnutrition in older adults with dementia: a scoping review. Research Square. 2026. doi:10.21203/rs.3.rs-9920981/v1.

BibTeX

@article{adeniji2026-573be0ef,
  author  = {Adeniji, T. and Kolawole, F. O. and Okemuo, A. and Fawole, H. O. and Akinrolie, O. and McCartney, A. and Roberts, S. and Adjei-Nicol, S. and others},
  title   = {{Bedside screening and assessment tools for sarcopenia, dysphagia and malnutrition in older adults with dementia: a scoping review}},
  journal = {Research Square},
  year    = {2026},
  doi     = {10.21203/rs.3.rs-9920981/v1},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.21203/rs.3.rs-9920981/v1}
}

Related studies in Prevention trials

Similar studies

More on Prevention trials

See all studies in Prevention trials →