Home › Research › Biomarkers
Association between Life's Simple 7 and cerebrospinal fluid biomarkers of Alzheimer's disease pathology in cognitively intact adults: the CABLE study
Zhao YL, Ou YN, Ma YH, Huang YY, Bi YL, Tan L, Yu JT.. Alzheimer's research & therapy, 2022-05-26
Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis
Introduction This study sought to explore the association between Life's Simple 7 (LS7) and cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) Alzheimer's disease (AD) pathological biomarkers in the cognitively normal northern Chinese population. Methods From the Chinese Alzheimer's Biomarker and LifestylE (CABLE) study, 1106 cognitively normal participants were enrolled. The mean age was 62.34 years, and 39.6% were female. LS7 scores were summed with each metric assigned 0, 1, or 2 scores. The multiple linear regression models were used to investigate the association between LS7 scores and CSF AD biomarkers. Results We found that LS7 scores were significantly associated with CSF AD pathologies, including Aβ42/40 (β = 0.034, P = .041), p-tau181 (β = - 0.043, P = .006), and t-tau (β = - 0.044, P = .003). In subscales, the biological metrics (blood pressure, cholesterol, glucose) were significantly related to CSF tau-related biomarkers. These associations were observed in the APOE ε4 allele non-carriers, yet not in carriers. The relationship of behavior metrics was found in the middle age and males. Conclusion Improving LS7 scores might do a favor to alleviate the pathology of AD in the preclinical stage, especially among the APOE ε4 allele non-carriers.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Zhao, Y. L., Ou, Y. N., Ma, Y. H., Huang, Y. Y., Bi, Y. L., Tan, L., et al. (2022). Association between Life's Simple 7 and cerebrospinal fluid biomarkers of Alzheimer's disease pathology in cognitively intact adults: the CABLE study. Alzheimer's research & therapy. https://doi.org/10.1186/s13195-022-01019-2
Vancouver
Zhao YL, Ou YN, Ma YH, Huang YY, Bi YL, Tan L, et al. Association between Life's Simple 7 and cerebrospinal fluid biomarkers of Alzheimer's disease pathology in cognitively intact adults: the CABLE study. Alzheimer's research & therapy. 2022. doi:10.1186/s13195-022-01019-2. PMID: 35619174.
BibTeX
@article{zhao2022-35619174,
author = {Zhao, Y. L. and Ou, Y. N. and Ma, Y. H. and Huang, Y. Y. and Bi, Y. L. and Tan, L. and Yu, J. T.},
title = {{Association between Life's Simple 7 and cerebrospinal fluid biomarkers of Alzheimer's disease pathology in cognitively intact adults: the CABLE study}},
journal = {Alzheimer's research \& therapy},
year = {2022},
doi = {10.1186/s13195-022-01019-2},
pmid = {35619174},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1186/s13195-022-01019-2}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record names 7 authors; APA and Vancouver show the first six, BibTeX and the downloads carry all of them. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- Results We found that LS7 scores were significantly associated with CSF AD pathologies, including Aβ42/40 (β = 0.034, P = .041), p-tau181 (β = - 0.043, P = .006), and t-tau (β = - 0.044, P = .003).
- In subscales, the biological metrics (blood pressure, cholesterol, glucose) were significantly related to CSF tau-related biomarkers.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Blood tests & biomarkers →
Study details
- Effect size39.6%
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 47/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 27 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 47 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Alzheimer's research & therapy) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 3 / 5 | 2022 — within 6 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 0 / 4 | Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Effect reported | 2 / 3 | Effect reported as a number, without an interval or test |
| Studied in people | 0 / 3 | Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 35619174) |
| Free to read | 2 / 2 | Free to read |
| Points | 27 / 58 | Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 27 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 47 out of 100. |
| Total | 47 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Related studies in Biomarkers
Also tagged “pathology”
5 studies in the library carry the topic tag “pathology”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 5 tagged studies.