Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

⚠ Preprint — not yet peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 16 out of 100. Cognitive tests and assessment

Topic: Brain proteins, microglia and lab models

Abstract Answer ALS is a comprehensive multi-omics approach to ALS to ascertain, at a population level, the various clinical-molecular- biochemical subtypes of sporadic ALS. This national program enrolled 1046 ALS and ALS/FTD patients along with a cohort of 100 matched control patients followed longitudinally over at least one year. A smartphone-based app was employed to collect deep clinical data including fine motor activity, speech, breathing and linguistics/cognition. Analytics of the speech patterns revealed a strong correlation between clinical progression indices and speech. In parallel, blood-derived iPS motor neurons were generated from each patient and the cells underwent multi-omics analytics including whole genome sequencing, RNA transcriptomics, ATAC-Seq and proteome along with quality assurance standards. HIPPA compliant cloud data bases were employed to store all data. There are more than 6 billion clinical and molecular data points per patient generated in the program. The program was designed, and patient consented, to be open access to all clinical, biological and molecular data as well as public release of all generated iPS cell lines. A web portal is available to academics as well as commercial researchers. The ultimate intent of this data is for the generation of Integrated clinical and biological signatures using bioinformatics, statistics and computational biology to establish patterns that may lead to a better understanding of the underlying mechanisms of disease including subgroup identification. Overall, this community based clinical and science program provides for the identification of distinct reliably identifiable subgroups among the sporadic and familial patients and the great utility in iPS based approaches to disease pathophysiology and therapy discovery. Although the data is ALS centric, given the large number of both ALS and control data sets, it would also be enormously useful to others studying frontotemporal dementia, Alzheimer’s, Parkinson’s disease and others.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Rothstein, J., Berry, J., Svendsen, C., Thompson, L., Finkbeiner, S., Eyk, J. V., et al. (2020). Answer ALS: A Large-Scale Resource for Sporadic and Familial ALS Combining Clinical Data with Multi-Omics Data from Induced Pluripotent Cell Lines. Research Square. https://doi.org/10.21203/rs.3.rs-96858/v1

Vancouver

Rothstein J, Berry J, Svendsen C, Thompson L, Finkbeiner S, Eyk JV, et al. Answer ALS: A Large-Scale Resource for Sporadic and Familial ALS Combining Clinical Data with Multi-Omics Data from Induced Pluripotent Cell Lines. Research Square. 2020. doi:10.21203/rs.3.rs-96858/v1.

BibTeX

@article{rothstein2020-6e340a67,
  author  = {Rothstein, J. and Berry, J. and Svendsen, C. and Thompson, L. and Finkbeiner, S. and Eyk, J. V. and Fraenkel, E. and Cudkowicz, M. and others},
  title   = {{Answer ALS: A Large-Scale Resource for Sporadic and Familial ALS Combining Clinical Data with Multi-Omics Data from Induced Pluripotent Cell Lines}},
  journal = {Research Square},
  year    = {2020},
  doi     = {10.21203/rs.3.rs-96858/v1},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.21203/rs.3.rs-96858/v1}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 16/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 2 of 10; Journal's citation record 0 of 4; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 3 of 5; Peer-review validation 4 of 10; How recent 2 of 5; Sample size 3 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 0 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 1 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. 15 of the 62 points it could be judged on, which is 24 of 100. Raw total 24 of 100, shown as 16 because this is not a peer-reviewed research article.raw total 24 of 100capped at 16 — hatched points do not count

Preprint — not yet peer-reviewed. It scored 24 on the same rubric, but non-peer-reviewed sources are capped at 16, so it shows as 16. Scored zero for study design, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 15 of the 62 points we could judge it on, which is 24 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 2 / 10 Tier 4 — not a peer-reviewed journal (Research Square)
Journal's citation record 0 / 4 Not a journal article, so the journal's record does not count
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 3 / 5 Rated “moderate” in our summary
Peer-review validation 4 / 10 Preprint — not yet peer-reviewed. Hosted on a preprint server.
How recent 2 / 5 2020 — within 10 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 3 / 4 1,046 participants
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 0 / 3 Laboratory or animal study (title names “cell lines”) — scores zero
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 1 / 2 Not in PubMed, but has a DOI
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Points 15 / 62 Scored on 12 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 15 of the 62 points we could judge it on is 24 out of 100.
Total 24 / 100 Capped to 16 because this is not a peer-reviewed article.

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Related studies in Cognitive tests and assessment

Also tagged “resource”

2 studies in the library carry the topic tag “resource”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 2 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Cognitive tests and assessment

See all studies in Cognitive tests and assessment →