Home › Research › Biomarkers
Analytical and Clinical Performance of Amyloid-Beta Peptides Measurements in CSF of ADNIGO/2 Participants by an LC-MS/MS Reference Method
Magdalena Korecka, Michal J Figurski, Susan M Landau, Magdalena Brylska, Jacob Alexander, Kaj Blennow, Henrik Zetterberg, William J Jagust et al.. Clinical chemistry, 2020-04-01
Topic: Plasma and spinal-fluid biomarkers
CRM-adjusted Aβ42 calibrator concentrations were calculated using the regression equation Y (CRM-adjusted) = 0.89X (calibrators) + 32.6. Control samples and CSF pools yielded imprecision ranging from 6.5 to 10.2% (Aβ42) and 2.2 to 7.0% (Aβ40). None of the CSF pools showed statistically significant differences in Aβ42 concentrations across 2 different calibrator lots. Comparison of Aβ42 with Aβ42/Aβ40 showed that the ratio improved concordance with concurrent [18F]-florbetapir PET as a measure of fibrillar Aβ (n = 766) from 81 to 88%. Long-term performance assessment substantiates our modified LC-MS/MS reference method for 3 Aβ peptides. The improved diagnostic performance of the CSF ratio Aβ42/Aβ40 suggests that Aβ42 and Aβ40 should be measured together and supports the need for an Aβ40 CRM.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Korecka, M., Figurski, M. J., Landau, S. M., Brylska, M., Alexander, J., Blennow, K., et al. (2020). Analytical and Clinical Performance of Amyloid-Beta Peptides Measurements in CSF of ADNIGO/2 Participants by an LC-MS/MS Reference Method. Clinical chemistry. https://doi.org/10.1093/clinchem/hvaa012
Vancouver
Korecka M, Figurski MJ, Landau SM, Brylska M, Alexander J, Blennow K, et al. Analytical and Clinical Performance of Amyloid-Beta Peptides Measurements in CSF of ADNIGO/2 Participants by an LC-MS/MS Reference Method. Clinical chemistry. 2020. doi:10.1093/clinchem/hvaa012. PMID: 32087019.
BibTeX
@article{korecka2020-32087019,
author = {Korecka, Magdalena and Figurski, Michal J and Landau, Susan M and Brylska, Magdalena and Alexander, Jacob and Blennow, Kaj and Zetterberg, Henrik and Jagust, William J and others},
title = {{Analytical and Clinical Performance of Amyloid-Beta Peptides Measurements in CSF of ADNIGO/2 Participants by an LC-MS/MS Reference Method}},
journal = {Clinical chemistry},
year = {2020},
doi = {10.1093/clinchem/hvaa012},
pmid = {32087019},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1093/clinchem/hvaa012}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- CRM-adjusted Aβ42 calibrator concentrations were calculated using the regression equation Y (CRM-adjusted) = 0.89X (calibrators) + 32.6.
- Control samples and CSF pools yielded imprecision ranging from 6.5 to 10.2% (Aβ42) and 2.2 to 7.0% (Aβ40).
- None of the CSF pools showed statistically significant differences in Aβ42 concentrations across 2 different calibrator lots.
- Comparison of Aβ42 with Aβ42/Aβ40 showed that the ratio improved concordance with concurrent [18F]-florbetapir PET as a measure of fibrillar Aβ (n = 766) from 81 to 88%.
- Long-term performance assessment substantiates our modified LC-MS/MS reference method for 3 Aβ peptides.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Blood tests & biomarkers →
Study details
- Participants766
- Effect size10.2%; 7.0%
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 52/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record, multi-centre collaboration and free to read, so those were left out: it earned 29 of the 56 points we could judge it on, which is 52 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Clinical chemistry) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 2 / 5 | 2020 — within 10 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 2 / 4 | 766 participants |
| Effect reported | 2 / 3 | Effect reported as a number, without an interval or test |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (participant count stated) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 32087019) |
| Free to read | — / 2 | Access not recorded — left out of this score |
| Points | 29 / 56 | Scored on 10 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 29 of the 56 points we could judge it on is 52 out of 100. |
| Total | 52 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Related studies in Biomarkers
Also tagged “18f”
319 studies in the library carry the topic tag “18f”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 319 tagged studies.