Home › Research › Getting a diagnosis
Alzheimer's disease: etiologies, pathophysiology, cognitive reserve, and treatment opportunities
Cummings JL, Vinters HV, Cole GM, Khachaturian ZS.. Neurology, 1998-07-01
Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis
The most proximal brain events associated with the clinical expression of dementia are progressive neuronal dysfunction and loss of neurons in specific regions of the brain.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Cummings, J. L., Vinters, H. V., Cole, G. M., & Khachaturian, Z. S. (1998). Alzheimer's disease: etiologies, pathophysiology, cognitive reserve, and treatment opportunities. Neurology. https://doi.org/10.1212/wnl.51.1_suppl_1.s2
Vancouver
Cummings JL, Vinters HV, Cole GM, Khachaturian ZS. Alzheimer's disease: etiologies, pathophysiology, cognitive reserve, and treatment opportunities. Neurology. 1998. doi:10.1212/wnl.51.1_suppl_1.s2. PMID: 9674758.
BibTeX
@article{cummings1998-9674758,
author = {Cummings, J. L. and Vinters, H. V. and Cole, G. M. and Khachaturian, Z. S.},
title = {{Alzheimer's disease: etiologies, pathophysiology, cognitive reserve, and treatment opportunities}},
journal = {Neurology},
year = {1998},
doi = {10.1212/wnl.51.1_suppl_1.s2},
pmid = {9674758},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1212/wnl.51.1_suppl_1.s2}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- The most proximal brain events associated with the clinical expression of dementia are progressive neuronal dysfunction and loss of neurons in specific regions of the brain.
Why it matters
This paper states that the most proximal brain events associated with the clinical expression of dementia are progressive neuronal dysfunction and loss of neurons in specific regions of the brain. It does not report any treatment, cure, or prevention findings.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Getting a diagnosis →
Study details
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 51/100
Published in a leading specialty journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 9 / 10 | Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (Neurology) |
| Journal's citation record | 4 / 4 | Neurology: journal h-index 525 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29) |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 1 / 5 | 1998 — older than 20 years, still counted |
| Sample size | 0 / 4 | Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 0 / 3 | Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | 6 / 7 | Cited 520 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10) |
| Citations per year | 3 / 5 | 17.3 citations a year over 30 year(s) since 1998 |
| Impact for its field and year | 4 / 6 | Cited 17.9× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI) |
| Cited by studies here | 3 / 6 | Cited by 11 other studies in this library |
| Still being cited | 2 / 4 | Cited 19 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex) |
| Senior author's track record | 3 / 4 | Last-listed author Zaven S. Khachaturian: h-index 56 (OpenAlex, whole career) |
| Institution's track record | 2 / 3 | University of California, Los Angeles: institution h-index 1,923 (OpenAlex) |
| Multi-centre collaboration | 1 / 3 | OpenAlex lists 3 institution(s) in 1 country |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 9674758) |
| Free to read | 0 / 2 | Behind a paywall — scores zero |
| Total | 51 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
May need a subscription OpenAlex found no free copy of the full text (checked 6 Feb 1020), so the publisher may charge for it. The PubMed abstract is free.
Studies this one cites
Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here.
Later studies that cite this one
11 studies in the alzhub library list this one in their references. Showing the 8 highest-scoring.
Related studies in Getting a diagnosis
Also in Getting a diagnosis
141 studies in the library are filed under Getting a diagnosis with no topic tag they share with another; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed tour of them. The Getting a diagnosis hub.