Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 42 out of 100. Cognitive tests and assessment

Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis

The clinical impact of Alzheimer's disease pathology at biopsy was investigated in 56 cognitively impaired patients undergoing shunt surgery for idiopathic normal pressure hydrocephalus (NPH). Cognition was measured by means of the global deterioration scale (GDS), the mini mental status examination (MMSE) and a battery of six psychometric tests. Gait was assessed using objective measurements of velocity and the ambulatory index (AI).

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Golomb, J., Wisoff, J., Miller, D. C., Boksay, I., Kluger, A., Weiner, H., et al. (2000). Alzheimer's disease comorbidity in normal pressure hydrocephalus: prevalence and shunt response. Journal of neurology, neurosurgery, and psychiatry. https://doi.org/10.1136/jnnp.68.6.778

Vancouver

Golomb J, Wisoff J, Miller DC, Boksay I, Kluger A, Weiner H, et al. Alzheimer's disease comorbidity in normal pressure hydrocephalus: prevalence and shunt response. Journal of neurology, neurosurgery, and psychiatry. 2000. doi:10.1136/jnnp.68.6.778. PMID: 10811706.

BibTeX

@article{golomb2000-10811706,
  author  = {Golomb, J. and Wisoff, J. and Miller, D. C. and Boksay, I. and Kluger, A. and Weiner, H. and Salton, J. and Graves, W.},
  title   = {{Alzheimer's disease comorbidity in normal pressure hydrocephalus: prevalence and shunt response}},
  journal = {Journal of neurology, neurosurgery, and psychiatry},
  year    = {2000},
  doi     = {10.1136/jnnp.68.6.778},
  pmid    = {10811706},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1136/jnnp.68.6.778}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record names 8 authors; APA and Vancouver show the first six, BibTeX and the downloads carry all of them. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Why it matters

This study investigated the prevalence of Alzheimer's disease pathology at biopsy and shunt response in patients with idiopathic normal pressure hydrocephalus. It concerns surgical outcomes in a specific patient group and does not test treating, curing or preventing Alzheimer's disease itself.

Study details

How this study scored 42/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record 3 of 4; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 1 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 0 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited 5 of 7; Citations per year 3 of 5; Impact for its field and year 2 of 6; Cited by studies here 2 of 6; Still being cited 2 of 4; Senior author's track record 2 of 4; Institution's track record 2 of 3; Multi-centre collaboration 0 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. Total 42 of 100.42 of 100 points earned58 not earned

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Journal of neurology, neurosurgery, and psychiatry)
Journal's citation record 3 / 4 Journal of Neurology Neurosurgery & Psychiatry: journal h-index 336 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29)
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 1 / 5 2000 — older than 20 years, still counted
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 0 / 3 Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited 5 / 7 Cited 282 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10)
Citations per year 3 / 5 10.1 citations a year over 28 year(s) since 2000
Impact for its field and year 2 / 6 Cited 1.6× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI)
Cited by studies here 2 / 6 Cited by 6 other studies in this library
Still being cited 2 / 4 Cited 30 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex)
Senior author's track record 2 / 4 Last-listed author James B. Golomb: h-index 26 (OpenAlex, whole career)
Institution's track record 2 / 3 New York University: institution h-index 1,612 (OpenAlex)
Multi-centre collaboration 0 / 3 OpenAlex lists 1 institution(s) in 1 country — scores zero (affiliation lists can be incomplete)
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 10811706)
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Total 42 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).

Studies this one cites

Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here.

Later studies that cite this one

6 studies in the alzhub library list this one in their references.

Related studies in Cognitive tests and assessment

Also tagged “vessel”

900 studies in the library carry the topic tag “vessel”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 900 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Cognitive tests and assessment

See all studies in Cognitive tests and assessment →