Home › Research › Caregiving
2014 Alzheimer's disease facts and figures
Alzheimer's Association.. Alzheimer's & dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association, 2014-03-01
Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis
This report discusses the public health impact of Alzheimer's disease (AD), including incidence and prevalence, mortality rates, costs of care, and overall effect on caregivers and society. It also examines the impact of AD on women compared with men.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Alzheimer's Association. (2014). 2014 Alzheimer's disease facts and figures. Alzheimer's & dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jalz.2014.02.001
Vancouver
Alzheimer's Association. 2014 Alzheimer's disease facts and figures. Alzheimer's & dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association. 2014. doi:10.1016/j.jalz.2014.02.001. PMID: 24818261.
BibTeX
@article{study2014-24818261,
author = {{Alzheimer's Association}},
title = {{2014 Alzheimer's disease facts and figures}},
journal = {Alzheimer's \& dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association},
year = {2014},
doi = {10.1016/j.jalz.2014.02.001},
pmid = {24818261},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jalz.2014.02.001}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- This report discusses the public health impact of Alzheimer's disease (AD), including incidence and prevalence, mortality rates, costs of care, and overall effect on caregivers and society.
- It also examines the impact of AD on women compared with men.
Why it matters
This report describes the public health impact of Alzheimer's disease, including incidence, prevalence, mortality, costs of care, and effects on caregivers and society. It does not test any treatment, cure, or prevention.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Caregiving →
Study details
- Participants200,000
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 60/100
Published in a leading specialty journal. Scored zero for study design, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on senior author's track record and institution's track record, so those were left out: it earned 56 of the 93 points we could judge it on, which is 60 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 9 / 10 | Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (Alzheimer's & dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association) |
| Journal's citation record | 2 / 4 | Alzheimer s & Dementia: journal h-index 228 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29) |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 1 / 5 | 2014 — within 20 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 4 / 4 | 200,000 participants |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (participant count stated) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | 7 / 7 | Cited 1,022 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10) |
| Citations per year | 5 / 5 | 73.0 citations a year over 14 year(s) since 2014 |
| Impact for its field and year | 6 / 6 | Cited 129.2× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI) |
| Cited by studies here | 3 / 6 | Cited by 25 other studies in this library |
| Still being cited | 3 / 4 | Cited 91 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex) |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | 0 / 3 | OpenAlex lists 0 institution(s) in 0 countries — scores zero (affiliation lists can be incomplete) |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 24818261) |
| Free to read | 0 / 2 | Behind a paywall — scores zero |
| Points | 56 / 93 | Scored on 18 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 56 of the 93 points we could judge it on is 60 out of 100. |
| Total | 60 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
- DOI: 10.1016/j.jalz.2014.02.001
- PubMed: 24818261
- Original source →
- Free full text: Alzheimer s & Dementia →
Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).
Studies this one cites
Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here. Showing 12 of 107.
Later studies that cite this one
25 studies in the alzhub library list this one in their references. Showing the 8 highest-scoring.
Related studies in Caregiving
Also in Caregiving
69 studies in the library are filed under Caregiving with no topic tag they share with another; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed tour of them. The Caregiving hub.