Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 55 out of 100. Cognitive tests and assessment

Topic: Risk, prevention and care in population studies

Background Mayo Test Drive (MTD): Mayo Test Development through Rapid Iteration, Validation and Expansion, is a web-based remote cognitive assessment platform for self-administered neuropsychological measures with previously demonstrated validity and reliability. We examined the usability of MTD and hypothesized that completion rates would be greater than 90%. We explored whether completion and participation rates differed by cognitive status and demographic factors. Methods A total of 1,950 Mayo Clinic Study of Aging and Mayo Alzheimer's Disease Research Center participants (97% White, 99% Non-Hispanic) were invited to participate in this ancillary, uncompensated remote study. Most invitees were cognitively unimpaired (CU; n = 1,769; 90.7%) and 9.3% were cognitively impaired (CI; n = 181). Usability was objectively defined as the percentage of participants who completed a session after initiating a session for a given timepoint (i.e. completion rates). Results Baseline session completion rates were 98.5% ( n = 1199/1217 participants, mean age 71, SD = 12, range 35-100) and were comparable between CU (98.7%) and CI (95.0%) groups ( p = .23). Completion rates did not significantly differ by age groups ( p > .10) and remained high in individuals 80+ ( n = 251, 97.3%). Participation rates were higher in the CU ( n = 1142, 65.4%) versus CI ( n = 57, 33.1%) group ( p < .001); participants were younger and had more years of education (p's < .001). Adherence (i.e. retention) rate for a 7.5-month follow-up session was 89%. Average session duration was 16 min. Most participants used a personal computer (62.7%), followed by a smartphone (22.2%) or tablet (14.8%). Comments entered by 36.4% of participants reflected several themes including acceptability, face validity, usability, and comments informative for session context. Conclusions MTD demonstrated high usability as defined by completion rates in this research sample that includes a broad age range, though participation rates are lower in individuals with cognitive impairment. Results support good adherence at follow-up, feasibility through mean session duration, and acceptability based on qualitative analysis of participant comments.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Patel, J. S., Christianson, T. J., Monahan, L. T., Frank, R. D., Fan, W. Z., Stricker, J. L., et al. (2025). Usability of the Mayo Test Drive remote self-administered web-based cognitive screening battery in adults aged 35-100 with and without cognitive impairment. Journal of clinical and experimental neuropsychology. https://doi.org/10.1080/13803395.2025.2464633

Vancouver

Patel JS, Christianson TJ, Monahan LT, Frank RD, Fan WZ, Stricker JL, et al. Usability of the Mayo Test Drive remote self-administered web-based cognitive screening battery in adults aged 35-100 with and without cognitive impairment. Journal of clinical and experimental neuropsychology. 2025. doi:10.1080/13803395.2025.2464633. PMID: 39976252.

BibTeX

@article{patel2025-39976252,
  author  = {Patel, J. S. and Christianson, T. J. and Monahan, L. T. and Frank, R. D. and Fan, W. Z. and Stricker, J. L. and Kremers, W. K. and Karstens, A. J. and others},
  title   = {{Usability of the Mayo Test Drive remote self-administered web-based cognitive screening battery in adults aged 35-100 with and without cognitive impairment}},
  journal = {Journal of clinical and experimental neuropsychology},
  year    = {2025},
  doi     = {10.1080/13803395.2025.2464633},
  pmid    = {39976252},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1080/13803395.2025.2464633}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 55/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 4 of 5; Sample size 3 of 4; Effect reported 2 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. 32 of the 58 points it could be judged on, which is 55 of 100. Total 55 of 100.32 of the 58 points we could judge = 55 of 100

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 32 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 55 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Journal of clinical and experimental neuropsychology)
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 4 / 5 2025 — within 3 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 3 / 4 1,769 participants
Effect reported 2 / 3 Effect reported as a number, without an interval or test
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 39976252)
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Points 32 / 58 Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 32 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 55 out of 100.
Total 55 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Related studies in Cognitive tests and assessment

Also in Cognitive tests and assessment

109 studies in the library are filed under Cognitive tests and assessment with no topic tag they share with another; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed tour of them. The Cognitive tests and assessment hub.

Similar studies

More on Cognitive tests and assessment

See all studies in Cognitive tests and assessment →