Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 47 out of 100. Clinical safety

Topic: Risk, prevention and care in population studies

Semantic dementia is a syndrome of progressive deterioration in semantic memory (knowledge of objects, people, concepts and words). It falls within the clinical spectrum of frontotemporal dementia but its pathology is yet to be studied systematically. This study included 18 consecutive post mortem cases meeting clinical criteria for semantic dementia. Clinic records and diagnostic histopathology were available for all cases; structural neuroimaging, neuropsychology and semi-quantitative histopathology/immunohistochemistry data were analysed where possible. The pathological diagnosis in a clear majority of cases was frontotemporal degeneration with ubiquitin inclusions (n = 13). Eleven of these cases had characteristic motor neuron disease-type inclusions in the dentate gyrus and cerebral cortex. Ubiquitin inclusions were found only in the inferior olivary nucleus in the other two, one of which was the only case to show degeneration of motor tracts and also to have shown evidence of motor neuron disease during life. None of the patients had motor symptoms or signs at presentation. A family history of motor neuron disease was documented in one case. Pick body-positive Pick's disease appeared three times. Two cases had Alzheimer's disease and significant coincidental Alzheimer-type pathology was also found in one of the ubiquitin inclusion cases. One of the Alzheimer's disease patients had changes in white matter signal on scanning, whereas all other scans showed cerebral atrophy only. Semi-quantitative assessment of regional neuronal loss found that anterior and inferior temporal regions bore the brunt of disease across all histopathological subtypes, usually on the left side, implicating this region in semantic processing.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 47/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 9 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 1 of 5; Sample size 1 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. 27 of the 58 points it could be judged on, which is 47 of 100. Total 47 of 100.27 of the 58 points we could judge = 47 of 100

Published in a leading specialty journal. Scored zero for study design, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 27 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 47 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 9 / 10 Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (Brain : a journal of neurology)
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 1 / 5 2005 — older than 20 years, still counted
Sample size 1 / 4 13 participants
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 16000337)
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Points 27 / 58 Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 27 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 47 out of 100.
Total 47 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Davies, R. R., Hodges, JR., Kril, J. J., Patterson, K., Halliday, G. M., & Xuereb, J. H. (2005). The pathological basis of semantic dementia. Brain : a journal of neurology. https://doi.org/10.1093/brain/awh582

Vancouver

Davies RR, Hodges JR, Kril JJ, Patterson K, Halliday GM, Xuereb JH. The pathological basis of semantic dementia. Brain : a journal of neurology. 2005. doi:10.1093/brain/awh582. PMID: 16000337.

BibTeX

@article{davies2005-16000337,
  author  = {Davies, R. R. and Hodges, JR. and Kril, J. J. and Patterson, K. and Halliday, G. M. and Xuereb, J. H.},
  title   = {{The pathological basis of semantic dementia}},
  journal = {Brain : a journal of neurology},
  year    = {2005},
  doi     = {10.1093/brain/awh582},
  pmid    = {16000337},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1093/brain/awh582}
}

Related studies in Clinical safety

Similar studies

More on Clinical safety

See all studies in Clinical safety →