Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 83 out of 100. Treatments

Topic: Drug trials: efficacy and safety

Subgroup analyses included (i) MCI versus mild AD; (ii) with versus without concomitant AD medications; and (iii) Apolipoprotein E (ApoE4) carriers versus non-carriers. Results There were 8010 participants (mean age: 71.5 years) across seven mAB trials, and 4993 participants (mean age:70.7 years) in nine AChEI trials. When compared to placebo, only mABs, not AChEIs, were associated with a slower progression of cognitive decline on CDR-SOB (mean difference -0.41 (95 % credible interval -0.61 to -0.22); minimally important difference (MID) -1) and ADAS-Cog (-1.35 (-2.36 to -0.36), MID -2); however, these benefits of mABs did not reach MID across the two cognitive measurements. Besides, mABs were associated with a slower progression of cognitive decline on CDR-SOB (-0.30 (-0.60 to -0.001)) than AChEIs, although mABs and AChEIs did not differ across safety outcomes, including acceptability, tolerability, SAE, and all-cause mortality. Further analysis of mABs indicated that their efficacy did not differ by disease stage, concomitant AD medications, or APOE4 carrier status. However, APOE4 homozygotes carriers were associated with a 5.53-fold (2.48 to 13.07) increased odds of developing ARIA-E compared to non-carriers. Finally, lecanemab demonstrated relatively better efficacy and a more favorable profile on ARIA-E compared to aducanumab and donanemab. Conclusions mABs were associated with a slower progression of cognitive decline than AChEIs; however, this effect did not reach the MID. The incidence of ARIA-E with mABs was associated with APOE4 carrier status and was not indicative of treatment efficacy.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 83/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 12 of 12; Strength of evidence 5 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 4 of 5; Sample size 3 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 2 of 2. 48 of the 58 points it could be judged on, which is 83 of 100. Total 83 of 100.48 of the 58 points we could judge = 83 of 100

Published in a peer-reviewed journal, and it is a meta-analysis pooling many studies. Scored zero for effect reported because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 48 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 83 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (The journal of prevention of Alzheimer's disease)
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 12 / 12 A meta-analysis pooling many studies (from PubMed type “Meta-Analysis”)
Strength of evidence 5 / 5 Rated “high” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 4 / 5 2025 — within 3 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 3 / 4 8,010 participants
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 A review of other studies — randomisation is not credited here
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 40316479)
Free to read 2 / 2 Free to read
Points 48 / 58 Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 48 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 83 out of 100.
Total 83 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Hsu, C. W., Hsu, T. W., Kao, Y. C., Lin, Y. H., Thompson, T., Carvalho, A. F., et al. (2025). The efficacy and safety of anti-amyloid monoclonal antibody versus acetylcholinesterase inhibitor with an in-depth analysis across genotypes and disease stages: a systematic review and meta-analysis. The journal of prevention of Alzheimer's disease. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.tjpad.2025.100195

Vancouver

Hsu CW, Hsu TW, Kao YC, Lin YH, Thompson T, Carvalho AF, et al. The efficacy and safety of anti-amyloid monoclonal antibody versus acetylcholinesterase inhibitor with an in-depth analysis across genotypes and disease stages: a systematic review and meta-analysis. The journal of prevention of Alzheimer's disease. 2025. doi:10.1016/j.tjpad.2025.100195. PMID: 40316479.

BibTeX

@article{hsu2025-40316479,
  author  = {Hsu, C. W. and Hsu, T. W. and Kao, Y. C. and Lin, Y. H. and Thompson, T. and Carvalho, A. F. and Stubbs, B. and Tseng, P. T. and others},
  title   = {{The efficacy and safety of anti-amyloid monoclonal antibody versus acetylcholinesterase inhibitor with an in-depth analysis across genotypes and disease stages: a systematic review and meta-analysis}},
  journal = {The journal of prevention of Alzheimer's disease},
  year    = {2025},
  doi     = {10.1016/j.tjpad.2025.100195},
  pmid    = {40316479},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1016/j.tjpad.2025.100195}
}

Related studies in Treatments

Also tagged “aducanumab”

332 studies in the library carry the topic tag “aducanumab”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 332 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Treatments

See all studies in Treatments →