Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 42 out of 100. Health systems and care delivery

Topic: Risk, prevention and care in population studies

Abstract INTRODUCTION This paper quantifies how incident dementia diagnosis rates vary for similar beneficiaries in traditional Medicare (TM) and Medicare Advantage (MA) seen by the same primary care provider (PCP). METHODS This cohort analysis used 2016 to 2018 data for Medicare beneficiaries. Using a propensity score‐matched sample of beneficiaries with similar likelihood of MA enrollment, we estimated linear probability models with PCP fixed effects of incident dementia diagnosis in 2017 for beneficiaries in MA relative to beneficiaries in TM. RESULTS Among a matched sample of 15,410,030 beneficiaries, accounting for both provider and patient characteristics, the incident dementia diagnosis rate was 0.11 percentage points lower for MA beneficiaries compared to TM beneficiaries attributed to the same PCP. MA patients were less likely to be seen by dementia specialists. DISCUSSION Differences in system‐level factors such as access to dementia specialists is a contributing factor to differences in diagnosis rates in MA and TM. Highlights In this study, we quantify how incident dementia diagnosis rates vary for similar beneficiaries in TM and MA seen by the same PCP. To investigate the role of insurance design on dementia diagnosis, we examined differences in diagnosis rates for TM and MA beneficiaries seen by the same PCP. Among a matched sample of TM and MA beneficiaries with assigned PCPs in 2017, incident dementia diagnosis rates were 0.11 percentage points lower for MA beneficiaries compared to TM beneficiaries seen by the same PCP. MA patients were less likely to be seen by dementia specialists compared to TM beneficiaries seen by the same PCP.

Key findings

Why it matters

Among a matched sample of over 15 million beneficiaries, the incident dementia diagnosis rate was 0.11 percentage points lower for Medicare Advantage beneficiaries than for traditional Medicare beneficiaries seen by the same primary care provider. Medicare Advantage patients were also less likely to be seen by dementia specialists.

Study details

How this study scored 42/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 9 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 3 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 4 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 0 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here 0 of 6; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 1 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. 27 of the 64 points it could be judged on, which is 42 of 100. Total 42 of 100.27 of the 64 points we could judge = 42 of 100

Published in a leading specialty journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 27 of the 64 points we could judge it on, which is 42 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 9 / 10 Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (Alzheimer's & Dementia)
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 3 / 5 Rated “moderate” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 4 / 5 2025 — within 3 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 0 / 3 Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here 0 / 6 No other study in this library cites it
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 1 / 2 Not in PubMed, but has a DOI
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Points 27 / 64 Scored on 12 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 27 of the 64 points we could judge it on is 42 out of 100.
Total 42 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Haye, S., Jacobson, M., & Zissimopoulos, J. (2025). Role of PCPs in diagnosing dementia in traditional Medicare and Medicare Advantage. Alzheimer's & Dementia. https://doi.org/10.1002/alz.14559

Vancouver

Haye S, Jacobson M, Zissimopoulos J. Role of PCPs in diagnosing dementia in traditional Medicare and Medicare Advantage. Alzheimer's & Dementia. 2025. doi:10.1002/alz.14559.

BibTeX

@article{haye2025-52307b0b,
  author  = {Haye, Sidra and Jacobson, Mireille and Zissimopoulos, Julie},
  title   = {{Role of PCPs in diagnosing dementia in traditional Medicare and Medicare Advantage}},
  journal = {Alzheimer's \& Dementia},
  year    = {2025},
  doi     = {10.1002/alz.14559},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1002/alz.14559}
}

Studies this one cites

Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here.

Related studies in Health systems and care delivery

Also tagged “prevalence”

1,224 studies in the library carry the topic tag “prevalence”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 1,224 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Health systems and care delivery

See all studies in Health systems and care delivery →