Home › Research › Brain scans and imaging
Quantification of amyloid beta and tau PET without a structural MRI
Susan M Landau, Tyler J Ward, Alice Murphy, Leonardo Iaccarino, Theresa M Harrison, Renaud La Joie, Suzanne Baker, Robert A Koeppe et al.. Alzheimer's & dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association, 2022-04-16
Topic: Plasma and spinal-fluid biomarkers
The best-performing MRI-free approaches had high continuous and dichotomous agreement with MRI-dependent SUVRs for Aβ PET and temporal flortaucipir (R2 ≥0.95; ± agreement ≥92%) and for Alzheimer's disease-related effect sizes; agreement was slightly lower for entorhinal flortaucipir and longitudinal slopes. There is no consistent loss of baseline or longitudinal AD-related signal with MRI-free Aβ and tau PET image quantification.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Landau, S. M., Ward, T. J., Murphy, A., Iaccarino, L., Harrison, T. M., La Joie, R., et al. (2023). Quantification of amyloid beta and tau PET without a structural MRI. Alzheimer's & dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association. https://doi.org/10.1002/alz.12668
Vancouver
Landau SM, Ward TJ, Murphy A, Iaccarino L, Harrison TM, La Joie R, et al. Quantification of amyloid beta and tau PET without a structural MRI. Alzheimer's & dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association. 2023. doi:10.1002/alz.12668. PMID: 35429219.
BibTeX
@article{landau2023-35429219,
author = {Landau, Susan M and Ward, Tyler J and Murphy, Alice and Iaccarino, Leonardo and Harrison, Theresa M and La Joie, Renaud and Baker, Suzanne and Koeppe, Robert A and others},
title = {{Quantification of amyloid beta and tau PET without a structural MRI}},
journal = {Alzheimer's \& dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association},
year = {2023},
doi = {10.1002/alz.12668},
pmid = {35429219},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1002/alz.12668}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- The best-performing MRI-free approaches had high continuous and dichotomous agreement with MRI-dependent SUVRs for Aβ PET and temporal flortaucipir (R2 ≥0.95; ± agreement ≥92%) and for Alzheimer's disease-related effect sizes; agreement was slightly lower for entorhinal flortaucipir and longitudinal slopes.
- There is no consistent loss of baseline or longitudinal AD-related signal with MRI-free Aβ and tau PET image quantification.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Brain scans & tests →
Study details
- Study designlongitudinal study
- Participants1,290
- Evidence strengthModerate
How this study scored 71/100
Published in a leading specialty journal, and it is a longitudinal study following the same people over time. Scored zero for effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record, multi-centre collaboration and free to read, so those were left out: it earned 40 of the 56 points we could judge it on, which is 71 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 9 / 10 | Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (Alzheimer's & dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 7 / 12 | A longitudinal study following the same people over time |
| Strength of evidence | 3 / 5 | Rated “moderate” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 3 / 5 | 2023 — within 6 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 3 / 4 | 1,290 participants |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (participant count stated) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 35429219) |
| Free to read | — / 2 | Access not recorded — left out of this score |
| Points | 40 / 56 | Scored on 10 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 40 of the 56 points we could judge it on is 71 out of 100. |
| Total | 71 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Related studies in Brain scans and imaging
Also tagged “18f”
319 studies in the library carry the topic tag “18f”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 319 tagged studies.