Home › Research › Digital health tools
Prevalence of Central Nervous System-Active Polypharmacy Among Older Adults With Dementia in the US
Maust DT, Strominger J, Kim HM, Langa KM, Bynum JPW, Chang CH, Kales HC, Zivin K et al.. JAMA, 2021-03-01
Topic: Drug trials: efficacy and safety
Results The study included 1 159 968 older adults with dementia (median age, 83.0 years [interquartile range {IQR}, 77.0-88.6 years]; 65.2% were female), of whom 13.9% (n = 161 412) met the criterion for CNS-active polypharmacy (32 139 610 polypharmacy-days of exposure). Gabapentin was the most common medication and was associated with 33.0% of polypharmacy-days.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Maust, D. T., Strominger, J., Kim, H. M., Langa, K. M., Bynum, J. P. W., Chang, C. H., et al. (2021). Prevalence of Central Nervous System-Active Polypharmacy Among Older Adults With Dementia in the US. JAMA. https://doi.org/10.1001/jama.2021.1195
Vancouver
Maust DT, Strominger J, Kim HM, Langa KM, Bynum JPW, Chang CH, et al. Prevalence of Central Nervous System-Active Polypharmacy Among Older Adults With Dementia in the US. JAMA. 2021. doi:10.1001/jama.2021.1195. PMID: 33687462.
BibTeX
@article{maust2021-33687462,
author = {Maust, D. T. and Strominger, J. and Kim, H. M. and Langa, K. M. and Bynum, J. P. W. and Chang, C. H. and Kales, H. C. and Zivin, K. and others},
title = {{Prevalence of Central Nervous System-Active Polypharmacy Among Older Adults With Dementia in the US}},
journal = {JAMA},
year = {2021},
doi = {10.1001/jama.2021.1195},
pmid = {33687462},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1001/jama.2021.1195}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- Results The study included 1 159 968 older adults with dementia (median age, 83.0 years [interquartile range {IQR}, 77.0-88.6 years]; 65.2% were female), of whom 13.9% (n = 161 412) met the criterion for CNS-active polypharmacy (32 139 610 polypharmacy-days of exposure).
- Gabapentin was the most common medication and was associated with 33.0% of polypharmacy-days.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Digital health →
Study details
- Study designcross-sectional
- Effect size65.2%; 13.9%; 71.2%
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 55/100
Published in a top-tier journal, and it is a snapshot of people at one point in time. Scored zero for sample size, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 32 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 55 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 10 / 10 | Tier 1 — top-tier general journal (JAMA) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 4 / 12 | A snapshot of people at one point in time |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 3 / 5 | 2021 — within 6 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 0 / 4 | Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Effect reported | 2 / 3 | Effect reported as a number, without an interval or test |
| Studied in people | 0 / 3 | Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 33687462) |
| Free to read | 0 / 2 | Behind a paywall — scores zero |
| Points | 32 / 58 | Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 32 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 55 out of 100. |
| Total | 55 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Related studies in Digital health tools
Also tagged “cholinesterase”
271 studies in the library carry the topic tag “cholinesterase”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 271 tagged studies.