Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 48 out of 100. End-of-life care

Topic: Health services, long-term care and technology

Results Statistically significant preoperative factors independently associated with not wearing a prosthesis in order of greatest to least risk were nonambulatory before amputation (OR, 9.5), above knee amputation (OR, 4.4), age > 60 years (OR, 2.7), homebound but ambulatory status (OR, 3.0), presence of dementia (OR, 2.4), end-stage renal disease (OR, 2.3), and coronary artery disease (OR, 2.0). Statistically significant preoperative factors independently associated with death in decreasing order of influence included age > or = 70 years (HR, 3.1), age 60 to 69 (HR, 2.5), and the presence of coronary artery disease (HR, 1.5). Statistically significant preoperative factors independently associated with failure of ambulation in decreasing order of influence included age > or = 70 years (HR, 2.3), age 60 to 69 (HR, 1.6), bilateral amputation (HR, 1.8), and end-stage renal disease (HR, 1.4). Statistically significant preoperative factors independently associated with failure to maintain independent living status in decreasing order of influence included age > or = 70 years (HR, 4.0), age 60 to 69 (HR, 2.7), level of amputation (HR, 1.8), homebound ambulatory status (HR, 1.6), and the presence of dementia (HR, 1.6).

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 48/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 1 of 5; Sample size 2 of 4; Effect reported 2 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. 28 of the 58 points it could be judged on, which is 48 of 100. Total 48 of 100.28 of the 58 points we could judge = 48 of 100

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 28 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 48 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Journal of vascular surgery)
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 1 / 5 2005 — older than 20 years, still counted
Sample size 2 / 4 553 participants
Effect reported 2 / 3 Effect reported as a number, without an interval or test
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 16102618)
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Points 28 / 58 Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 28 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 48 out of 100.
Total 48 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Taylor, S. M., Kalbaugh, C. A., Blackhurst, D. W., Hamontree, S. E., Cull, D. L., Messich, H. S., et al. (2005). Preoperative clinical factors predict postoperative functional outcomes after major lower limb amputation: an analysis of 553 consecutive patients. Journal of vascular surgery. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jvs.2005.04.015

Vancouver

Taylor SM, Kalbaugh CA, Blackhurst DW, Hamontree SE, Cull DL, Messich HS, et al. Preoperative clinical factors predict postoperative functional outcomes after major lower limb amputation: an analysis of 553 consecutive patients. Journal of vascular surgery. 2005. doi:10.1016/j.jvs.2005.04.015. PMID: 16102618.

BibTeX

@article{taylor2005-16102618,
  author  = {Taylor, S. M. and Kalbaugh, C. A. and Blackhurst, D. W. and Hamontree, S. E. and Cull, D. L. and Messich, H. S. and Robertson, R. T. and Langan, E. M. and others},
  title   = {{Preoperative clinical factors predict postoperative functional outcomes after major lower limb amputation: an analysis of 553 consecutive patients}},
  journal = {Journal of vascular surgery},
  year    = {2005},
  doi     = {10.1016/j.jvs.2005.04.015},
  pmid    = {16102618},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jvs.2005.04.015}
}

Related studies in End-of-life care

Similar studies

More on End-of-life care

See all studies in End-of-life care →