Home › Research › Treatments
Potential cognitive enhancing and disease modification effects of SSRIs for Alzheimer's disease
Chow TW, Pollock BG, Milgram NW.. Neuropsychiatric disease and treatment, 2007-01-01
Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis
Conclusions Lack of supportive evidence for SSRIs as cognition enhancers or disease modifiers in AD is the result of omissions in clinical trial design, as opposed to reporting of negative outcomes.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Chow, T. W., Pollock, B. G., & Milgram, N. W. (2007). Potential cognitive enhancing and disease modification effects of SSRIs for Alzheimer's disease. Neuropsychiatric disease and treatment.
Vancouver
Chow TW, Pollock BG, Milgram NW. Potential cognitive enhancing and disease modification effects of SSRIs for Alzheimer's disease. Neuropsychiatric disease and treatment. 2007. PMID: 19300592.
BibTeX
@article{chow2007-19300592,
author = {Chow, T. W. and Pollock, B. G. and Milgram, N. W.},
title = {{Potential cognitive enhancing and disease modification effects of SSRIs for Alzheimer's disease}},
journal = {Neuropsychiatric disease and treatment},
year = {2007},
pmid = {19300592}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. This record has no DOI, so the citation leaves it out. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- Conclusions Lack of supportive evidence for SSRIs as cognition enhancers or disease modifiers in AD is the result of omissions in clinical trial design, as opposed to reporting of negative outcomes.
Why it matters
This paper concludes that the lack of supportive evidence for SSRIs as cognition enhancers or disease modifiers in Alzheimer disease is due to omissions in clinical trial design rather than to reported negative outcomes. It does not provide evidence that SSRIs treat or prevent the disease.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Treatments →
Study details
- Study designrandomized controlled trial
- Evidence strengthHigh
How this study scored 54/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal, and it is a randomised controlled trial. Scored zero for sample size, effect reported and studied in people because the record does not state it.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Neuropsychiatric disease and treatment) |
| Journal's citation record | 1 / 4 | Neuropsychiatric Disease and Treatment: journal h-index 126 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29) |
| Study design | 11 / 12 | A randomised controlled trial |
| Strength of evidence | 5 / 5 | Rated “high” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 1 / 5 | 2007 — within 20 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 0 / 4 | Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 0 / 3 | Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Randomised / blinded | 1 / 2 | Randomised (as stated in the record) |
| Times cited | 4 / 7 | Cited 40 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10) |
| Citations per year | 1 / 5 | 1.9 citations a year over 21 year(s) since 2007 |
| Impact for its field and year | 1 / 6 | Cited 0.7× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI) |
| Cited by studies here | 0 / 6 | No other study in this library cites it |
| Still being cited | 1 / 4 | Cited 5 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex) |
| Senior author's track record | 3 / 4 | Last-listed author Norton William Milgram: h-index 55 (OpenAlex, whole career) |
| Institution's track record | 2 / 3 | University of Toronto: institution h-index 1,923 (OpenAlex) |
| Multi-centre collaboration | 2 / 3 | OpenAlex lists 4 institution(s) in 1 country |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 19300592) |
| Free to read | 2 / 2 | Free to read |
| Total | 54 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).
Related studies in Treatments
Also tagged “double-blind”
783 studies in the library carry the topic tag “double-blind”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 783 tagged studies.