Home › Research › Health systems and care delivery
Placement of dementia sufferers in residential and nursing home care
C Bannister, C Ballard, M Lana, A Fairbairn, G Wilcock. Age and ageing, 1998-03
Topic: Health services, long-term care and technology
25 (21.6%) of the 116 patients living at home were admitted to residential or nursing home care during the follow-up year. Institutional placement was associated with greater severity of cognitive impairment, severity of parkinsonism and the failure of carers to adopt active coping strategies. An intervention to improve coping skills in carers may decrease the rates of residential and nursing home placement.
Key findings
- 25 (21.6%) of the 116 patients living at home were admitted to residential or nursing home care during the follow-up year.
- Institutional placement was associated with greater severity of cognitive impairment, severity of parkinsonism and the failure of carers to adopt active coping strategies.
- An intervention to improve coping skills in carers may decrease the rates of residential and nursing home placement.
Study details
- Participants124
- Effect size21.6%
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 50/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record, multi-centre collaboration and free to read, so those were left out: it earned 28 of the 56 points we could judge it on, which is 50 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Age and ageing) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 1 / 5 | 1998 — older than 20 years, still counted |
| Sample size | 2 / 4 | 124 participants |
| Effect reported | 2 / 3 | Effect reported as a number, without an interval or test |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (participant count stated) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 16296678) |
| Free to read | — / 2 | Access not recorded — left out of this score |
| Points | 28 / 56 | Scored on 10 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 28 of the 56 points we could judge it on is 50 out of 100. |
| Total | 50 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
APA 7th
Bannister, C., Ballard, C., Lana, M., Fairbairn, A., & Wilcock, G. (1998). Placement of dementia sufferers in residential and nursing home care. Age and ageing. https://doi.org/10.1093/ageing/27.2.189
Vancouver
Bannister C, Ballard C, Lana M, Fairbairn A, Wilcock G. Placement of dementia sufferers in residential and nursing home care. Age and ageing. 1998. doi:10.1093/ageing/27.2.189. PMID: 16296678.
BibTeX
@article{bannister1998-16296678,
author = {Bannister, C and Ballard, C and Lana, M and Fairbairn, A and Wilcock, G},
title = {{Placement of dementia sufferers in residential and nursing home care}},
journal = {Age and ageing},
year = {1998},
doi = {10.1093/ageing/27.2.189},
pmid = {16296678},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1093/ageing/27.2.189}
}
Related studies in Health systems and care delivery
Also tagged “assisted-living”
199 studies in the library carry the topic tag “assisted-living”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 199 tagged studies.