Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 64 out of 100. Prevention trials

Topic: Risk, prevention and care in population studies

In this era of unprecedented longevity, healthy aging is an important public health priority. Avoiding or shortening the period of disability or dementia before death is critical to achieving the defining objectives of healthy aging, namely to develop and maintain functional capabilities that enable wellbeing in older age. The first step is to identify people who are at risk and then to implement effective primary interventions. Geriatricians have identified a distinct clinical phenotype of concurrent physical frailty and cognitive impairment, which predicts high risk of incident dementia and disability and is potentially reversible. Differing operational definitions for this phenotype include "cognitive frailty", "motoric cognitive risk syndrome" and the recently proposed "physio-cognitive decline syndrome (PCDS)". PCDS is defined as concurrent mobility impairment no disability (MIND: slow gait or/and weak handgrip) and cognitive impairment no dementia (CIND: ≥1.5 SD below the mean for age-, sex-, and education-matched norms in any cognitive domain but without dementia). By these criteria, PCDS has a prevalence of 10-15% among community-dwelling older persons without dementia or disability, who are at increased risk for incident disability (HR 3.9, 95% CI 3.0-5.1), incident dementia (HR 3.4, 95% CI 2.4-5.0) and all-cause mortality (HR 6.7, 95% CI 1.8-26.1). Moreover, PCDS is associated with characteristic neuroanatomic changes in the cerebellum and hippocampus, and their neurocircuitry, which are distinct from neuroimaging features in normal aging and common dementia syndromes. Basic research and longitudinal clinical studies also implicate a hypothetical muscle-brain axis in the pathoetiology of PCDS. Most important, community-dwelling elders with PCDS who participated in a multidomain intervention had significant improvements in global cognitive function, and especially in the subdomains of naming and concentration. Our proposed operational definition of PCDS successfully identifies an appreciable population of at-risk older people, establishes a distinct phenotype with an apparently unique pathoetiology, and is potentially reversible. We now need further studies to elucidate the pathophysiology of PCDS, to validate neuroimaging features and muscle-secreted microRNA biomarkers, and to evaluate the effectiveness of sustained multidomain interventions.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Chung, C. P., Lee, W. J., Peng, L. N., Shimada, H., Tsai, T. F., Lin, C. P., et al. (2021). Physio-Cognitive Decline Syndrome as the Phenotype and Treatment Target of Unhealthy Aging. The journal of nutrition, health & aging. https://doi.org/10.1007/s12603-021-1693-4

Vancouver

Chung CP, Lee WJ, Peng LN, Shimada H, Tsai TF, Lin CP, et al. Physio-Cognitive Decline Syndrome as the Phenotype and Treatment Target of Unhealthy Aging. The journal of nutrition, health & aging. 2021. doi:10.1007/s12603-021-1693-4. PMID: 34866145.

BibTeX

@article{chung2021-34866145,
  author  = {Chung, C. P. and Lee, W. J. and Peng, L. N. and Shimada, H. and Tsai, T. F. and Lin, C. P. and Arai, H. and Chen, L. K.},
  title   = {{Physio-Cognitive Decline Syndrome as the Phenotype and Treatment Target of Unhealthy Aging}},
  journal = {The journal of nutrition, health \& aging},
  year    = {2021},
  doi     = {10.1007/s12603-021-1693-4},
  pmid    = {34866145},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1007/s12603-021-1693-4}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record names 8 authors; APA and Vancouver show the first six, BibTeX and the downloads carry all of them. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 64/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 7 of 12; Strength of evidence 3 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 3 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 3 of 3; Studied in people 0 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 2 of 2. 37 of the 58 points it could be judged on, which is 64 of 100. Total 64 of 100.37 of the 58 points we could judge = 64 of 100

Published in a peer-reviewed journal, and it is a longitudinal study following the same people over time. Scored zero for sample size, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 37 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 64 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (The journal of nutrition, health & aging)
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 7 / 12 A longitudinal study following the same people over time
Strength of evidence 3 / 5 Rated “moderate” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 3 / 5 2021 — within 6 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 3 / 3 Effect reported with a statistic (interval, p-value, ratio or similar)
Studied in people 0 / 3 Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 34866145)
Free to read 2 / 2 Free to read
Points 37 / 58 Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 37 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 64 out of 100.
Total 64 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Related studies in Prevention trials

Also tagged “controlled”

1,118 studies in the library carry the topic tag “controlled”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 1,118 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Prevention trials

See all studies in Prevention trials →