Home › Research › Risk factors
Neuropsychological and psychiatric changes after deep brain stimulation for Parkinson's disease: a randomised, multicentre study
Witt K, Daniels C, Reiff J, Krack P, Volkmann J, Pinsker MO, Krause M, Tronnier V et al.. The Lancet. Neurology, 2008-06-04
Topic: Brain imaging, connectivity and assessment
The primary outcome was the comparison of the effect of DBS with the best medical treatment on overall cognitive functioning (Mattis dementia rating scale). Anxiety was reduced in the DBS group compared with the medication group (difference of changes in Beck anxiety inventory 10.43 points, 6.08 to 14.78, 0.8). Interpretation DBS of the STN does not reduce overall cognition or affectivity, although there is a selective decrease in frontal cognitive functions and an improvement in anxiety in patients after the treatment.
Key findings
- The primary outcome was the comparison of the effect of DBS with the best medical treatment on overall cognitive functioning (Mattis dementia rating scale).
- Anxiety was reduced in the DBS group compared with the medication group (difference of changes in Beck anxiety inventory 10.43 points, 6.08 to 14.78, 0.8).
- Interpretation DBS of the STN does not reduce overall cognition or affectivity, although there is a selective decrease in frontal cognitive functions and an improvement in anxiety in patients after the treatment.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Risk factors, ranked →
Study details
- Participants156
- Evidence strengthHigh
How this study scored 75/100
Published in a leading specialty journal, and it is a randomised controlled trial. Scored zero for effect reported because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record and institution's track record, so those were left out: it earned 46 of the 61 points we could judge it on, which is 75 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 9 / 10 | Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (The Lancet. Neurology) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 11 / 12 | A randomised controlled trial (from PubMed type “Randomized Controlled Trial”) |
| Strength of evidence | 5 / 5 | Rated “high” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 1 / 5 | 2008 — within 20 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 2 / 4 | 156 participants |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (participant count stated) |
| Randomised / blinded | 1 / 2 | Randomised (as stated in the record) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | 2 / 3 | PubMed indexes it as a multicentre study |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 18538636) |
| Free to read | 0 / 2 | Behind a paywall — scores zero |
| Points | 46 / 61 | Scored on 12 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 46 of the 61 points we could judge it on is 75 out of 100. |
| Total | 75 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
APA 7th
Witt, K., Daniels, C., Reiff, J., Krack, P., Volkmann, J., Pinsker, M. O., et al. (2008). Neuropsychological and psychiatric changes after deep brain stimulation for Parkinson's disease: a randomised, multicentre study. The Lancet. Neurology. https://doi.org/10.1016/s1474-4422(08)70114-5
Vancouver
Witt K, Daniels C, Reiff J, Krack P, Volkmann J, Pinsker MO, et al. Neuropsychological and psychiatric changes after deep brain stimulation for Parkinson's disease: a randomised, multicentre study. The Lancet. Neurology. 2008. doi:10.1016/s1474-4422(08)70114-5. PMID: 18538636.
BibTeX
@article{witt2008-18538636,
author = {Witt, K. and Daniels, C. and Reiff, J. and Krack, P. and Volkmann, J. and Pinsker, M. O. and Krause, M. and Tronnier, V. and others},
title = {{Neuropsychological and psychiatric changes after deep brain stimulation for Parkinson's disease: a randomised, multicentre study}},
journal = {The Lancet. Neurology},
year = {2008},
doi = {10.1016/s1474-4422(08)70114-5},
pmid = {18538636},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1016/s1474-4422(08)70114-5}
}
Related studies in Risk factors
Also in Risk factors
356 studies in the library are filed under Risk factors with no topic tag they share with another; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed tour of them. The Risk factors hub.