Home › Research › Tau biomarkers
Measurement batch differences and between-batch conversion of Alzheimer's disease cerebrospinal fluid biomarker values
Yue Ma, Derek L Norton, Carol A Van Hulle, Richard J Chappell, Karen K Lazar, Erin M Jonaitis, Rebecca L Koscik, Lindsay R Clark et al.. Alzheimer's & dementia (Amsterdam, Netherlands), 2021-05-25
Topic: Plasma and spinal-fluid biomarkers
We found statistically significant batch differences for all biomarkers and ratios, except that neurofilament light was comparable between batches 1 and 2. The conversion models generally had high R 2 except for converting P-tau between batches 1 and 3. Between-batch conversion allows harmonized CSF values to be used in the same analysis. Such method may be applied to adjust for other sources of variability in measuring CSF or other types of biomarkers.
Key findings
- We found statistically significant batch differences for all biomarkers and ratios, except that neurofilament light was comparable between batches 1 and 2.
- The conversion models generally had high R 2 except for converting P-tau between batches 1 and 3.
- Between-batch conversion allows harmonized CSF values to be used in the same analysis.
- Such method may be applied to adjust for other sources of variability in measuring CSF or other types of biomarkers.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Blood tests & biomarkers →
Study details
- Participants528
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 54/100
Published in a leading specialty journal. Scored zero for study design, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record, multi-centre collaboration and free to read, so those were left out: it earned 30 of the 56 points we could judge it on, which is 54 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 9 / 10 | Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (Alzheimer's & dementia (Amsterdam, Netherlands)) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 3 / 5 | 2021 — within 6 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 2 / 4 | 528 participants |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (participant count stated) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 34084888) |
| Free to read | — / 2 | Access not recorded — left out of this score |
| Points | 30 / 56 | Scored on 10 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 30 of the 56 points we could judge it on is 54 out of 100. |
| Total | 54 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
APA 7th
Ma, Y., Norton, D. L., Van Hulle, C. A., Chappell, R. J., Lazar, K. K., Jonaitis, E. M., et al. (2021). Measurement batch differences and between-batch conversion of Alzheimer's disease cerebrospinal fluid biomarker values. Alzheimer's & dementia (Amsterdam, Netherlands). https://doi.org/10.1002/dad2.12194
Vancouver
Ma Y, Norton DL, Van Hulle CA, Chappell RJ, Lazar KK, Jonaitis EM, et al. Measurement batch differences and between-batch conversion of Alzheimer's disease cerebrospinal fluid biomarker values. Alzheimer's & dementia (Amsterdam, Netherlands). 2021. doi:10.1002/dad2.12194. PMID: 34084888.
BibTeX
@article{ma2021-34084888,
author = {Ma, Yue and Norton, Derek L and Van Hulle, Carol A and Chappell, Richard J and Lazar, Karen K and Jonaitis, Erin M and Koscik, Rebecca L and Clark, Lindsay R and others},
title = {{Measurement batch differences and between-batch conversion of Alzheimer's disease cerebrospinal fluid biomarker values}},
journal = {Alzheimer's \& dementia (Amsterdam, Netherlands)},
year = {2021},
doi = {10.1002/dad2.12194},
pmid = {34084888},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1002/dad2.12194}
}
Related studies in Tau biomarkers
Also tagged “blood-based”
698 studies in the library carry the topic tag “blood-based”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 698 tagged studies.