Home › Research › Tau biomarkers
Insulin-like growth factor binding protein-2 in at-risk adults and autopsy-confirmed Alzheimer brains
Quesnel MJ, Labonté A, Picard C, Zetterberg H, Blennow K, Brinkmalm A, Villeneuve S, Poirier J et al.. Brain : a journal of neurology, 2024-05-01
Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis
Insulin, insulin-like growth factors (IGF) and their receptors are highly expressed in the adult hippocampus. Thus, disturbances in the insulin-IGF signalling pathway may account for the selective vulnerability of the hippocampus to nascent Alzheimer's disease (AD) pathology. In the present study, we examined the predominant IGF-binding protein in the CSF, IGFBP2.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Quesnel, M. J., Labonté, A., Picard, C., Zetterberg, H., Blennow, K., Brinkmalm, A., et al. (2024). Insulin-like growth factor binding protein-2 in at-risk adults and autopsy-confirmed Alzheimer brains. Brain : a journal of neurology. https://doi.org/10.1093/brain/awad398
Vancouver
Quesnel MJ, Labonté A, Picard C, Zetterberg H, Blennow K, Brinkmalm A, et al. Insulin-like growth factor binding protein-2 in at-risk adults and autopsy-confirmed Alzheimer brains. Brain : a journal of neurology. 2024. doi:10.1093/brain/awad398. PMID: 37992295.
BibTeX
@article{quesnel2024-37992295,
author = {Quesnel, M. J. and Labonté, A. and Picard, C. and Zetterberg, H. and Blennow, K. and Brinkmalm, A. and Villeneuve, S. and Poirier, J. and others},
title = {{Insulin-like growth factor binding protein-2 in at-risk adults and autopsy-confirmed Alzheimer brains}},
journal = {Brain : a journal of neurology},
year = {2024},
doi = {10.1093/brain/awad398},
pmid = {37992295},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1093/brain/awad398}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- Thus, disturbances in the insulin-IGF signalling pathway may account for the selective vulnerability of the hippocampus to nascent Alzheimer's disease (AD) pathology.
- In the present study, we examined the predominant IGF-binding protein in the CSF, IGFBP2.
- CSF was collected from 109 asymptomatic members of the parental history-positive PREVENT-AD cohort.
- CSF levels of IGFBP2, core AD and synaptic biomarkers were measured using proximity extension assay, ELISA and mass spectrometry.
Why it matters
This study measured the protein IGFBP2 in cerebrospinal fluid from 109 asymptomatic people with a parent who had Alzheimer's disease, alongside core Alzheimer's and synaptic biomarkers. It is a biomarker study, so it does not show that changing IGFBP2 levels treats, cures or prevents the disease.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Blood tests & biomarkers →
Study details
- Study designlongitudinal study
- Evidence strengthModerate
How this study scored 57/100
Published in a leading specialty journal, and it is a longitudinal study following the same people over time. Scored zero for sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on senior author's track record, so that was left out: it earned 55 of the 96 points we could judge it on, which is 57 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 9 / 10 | Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (Brain : a journal of neurology) |
| Journal's citation record | 4 / 4 | Brain: journal h-index 503 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29) |
| Study design | 7 / 12 | A longitudinal study following the same people over time |
| Strength of evidence | 3 / 5 | Rated “moderate” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 4 / 5 | 2024 — within 3 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 0 / 4 | Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 0 / 3 | Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | 3 / 7 | Cited 23 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10) |
| Citations per year | 2 / 5 | 5.8 citations a year over 4 year(s) since 2024 |
| Impact for its field and year | 3 / 6 | Cited 3.4× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI) |
| Cited by studies here | 1 / 6 | Cited by 2 other studies in this library |
| Still being cited | 2 / 4 | Cited 22 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex) |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | 2 / 3 | University College London: institution h-index 2,029 (OpenAlex) |
| Multi-centre collaboration | 3 / 3 | OpenAlex lists 12 institution(s) in 6 countries |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 37992295) |
| Free to read | 0 / 2 | Behind a paywall — scores zero |
| Points | 55 / 96 | Scored on 19 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 55 of the 96 points we could judge it on is 57 out of 100. |
| Total | 57 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
- DOI: 10.1093/brain/awad398
- PubMed: 37992295
- Original source →
- Free full text: UCL Discovery (University College London) →
Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).
Studies this one cites
Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here. Showing 12 of 18.
Later studies that cite this one
2 studies in the alzhub library list this one in their references.
Related studies in Tau biomarkers
Also tagged “cerebrospinal”
820 studies in the library carry the topic tag “cerebrospinal”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 820 tagged studies.