Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 78 out of 100. Cognitive tests and assessment

Topic: Brain imaging, connectivity and assessment

Objective Non-pharmacological therapies (NPTs) have received increasing attention from researchers as a category of treatment to improve cognitive impairment in patients with dementia because of their fewer side effects. In this study, photobiomodulation (PBM), enriched environment (EE), exercise therapy (ET), computerized cognitive training (CCT), and cognitive stimulation therapy (CST) were selected to compare the effects of NPTs that improve dementia by quantifying information from randomized controlled trials (RCTs). Methods We did a systematic review and network meta-analysis. We searched PubMed, Embase, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), China National Knowledge Infrastructure Database, Wan Fang Database, Chinese Biomedical Literature Database, Web of Science, and VIP Database from the time of database creation to 1 August 2022. Two investigators independently screened the literature, extracted information, and assessed the RCTs' quality with the Cochrane Collaboration Network Risk of Bias 2.0. Network meta-analysis was performed using R language (X64 version 4.1.3) and STATA 17.0. Results We identified 1,268 citations and of these included 38 trials comprising 3,412 participants. For improving dementia, the results of the network meta-analysis showed that compared with the control group (CON), PBM (SMD = 0.90, 95% CI: 0.43-1.37), EE (SMD = 0.71, 95% CI: 0.02-1.41), ET (SMD = 0.42, 95% CI: 0.16-0.68), and CST (SMD = 0.36, 95% CI: 0.11-0.62) were significantly different ( P < 0.05); There was no significant difference in CCT (SMD = 0.41, 95% CI: -0.07-0.88) ( P > 0.05). The ranked results showed that PBM has more potential to be the best intervention ( P = 0.90). In addition, there was a significant difference between PBM and CST in improving cognitive function (SMD = 0.54, 95% CI: 0.00; 1.08, P < 0.05). Conclusion In this study, NPTs have excellent potential to improve cognition in people with dementia, and PBM may have more significant benefits in improving cognition than the other four NPTs. Systematic review registration https://www.crd.york.ac.uk/prospero/, identifier CRD42022363746.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 78/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 12 of 12; Strength of evidence 5 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 3 of 5; Sample size 1 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 2 of 2. 45 of the 58 points it could be judged on, which is 78 of 100. Total 78 of 100.45 of the 58 points we could judge = 78 of 100

Published in a peer-reviewed journal, and it is a systematic review of all the studies on the question. Scored zero for effect reported because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 45 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 78 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Frontiers in aging neuroscience)
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 12 / 12 A systematic review of all the studies on the question
Strength of evidence 5 / 5 Rated “high” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 3 / 5 2023 — within 6 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 1 / 4 38 participants
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 A review of other studies — randomisation is not credited here
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 36967820)
Free to read 2 / 2 Free to read
Points 45 / 58 Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 45 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 78 out of 100.
Total 78 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Luo, G., Zhang, J., Song, Z., Wang, Y., Wang, X., Qu, H., et al. (2023). Effectiveness of non-pharmacological therapies on cognitive function in patients with dementia-A network meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials. Frontiers in aging neuroscience. https://doi.org/10.3389/fnagi.2023.1131744

Vancouver

Luo G, Zhang J, Song Z, Wang Y, Wang X, Qu H, et al. Effectiveness of non-pharmacological therapies on cognitive function in patients with dementia-A network meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials. Frontiers in aging neuroscience. 2023. doi:10.3389/fnagi.2023.1131744. PMID: 36967820.

BibTeX

@article{luo2023-36967820,
  author  = {Luo, G. and Zhang, J. and Song, Z. and Wang, Y. and Wang, X. and Qu, H. and Wang, F. and Liu, C. and others},
  title   = {{Effectiveness of non-pharmacological therapies on cognitive function in patients with dementia-A network meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials}},
  journal = {Frontiers in aging neuroscience},
  year    = {2023},
  doi     = {10.3389/fnagi.2023.1131744},
  pmid    = {36967820},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.3389/fnagi.2023.1131744}
}

Related studies in Cognitive tests and assessment

Also tagged “exercise-training”

125 studies in the library carry the topic tag “exercise-training”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 125 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Cognitive tests and assessment

See all studies in Cognitive tests and assessment →