Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

⚠ Preprint — not yet peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 16 out of 100. How common it is

Topic: Drug trials: efficacy and safety

Background Starting a strong anticholinergic during acute admission is an unresolved medication-safety decision for older people with dementia. We assessed whether linked routine-care data supported an interpretable admission-time estimate of 30-day mortality after initiation versus avoidance and examined a separate 48-hour landmark association. Methods We linked MIMIC-IV and MIMIC-IV-ED data. Admission was time zero. Strategies were confirmed initiation of a selected non-scopolamine strong anticholinergic within 48 hours versus avoidance. Clone-censor-weight methods addressed the grace period. We required a maximum absolute weighted standardised mean difference below 0.10 to report an effect. The secondary 48-hour landmark analysis used overlap weighting and patient-cluster bootstrap intervals. Results The primary cohort included 3,706 admissions from 1,861 patients and 47 initiators. Of 3,706 initiation-strategy clones, 3,657 (98.7%) were artificially censored. Maximum absolute weighted standardised mean difference was 1.499 and initiation-strategy effective sample size was 12.4; no strategy effect was reported. The landmark cohort included 2,572 admissions from 1,455 patients and 36 initiators. The direct overlap-weighted risk difference was − 0.33 percentage points (95% CI -7.90 to 5.38); the augmented estimate was 0.28 percentage points (95% CI -5.99 to 6.99). Maximum weighted imbalance was 0.092. Conclusions Rare confirmed initiation prevented a clinically interpretable admission-time strategy estimate. The separate landmark association was imprecise and cannot establish safety, equivalence or causality. Future studies need multicentre recruitment, verified administration and enough initiators to support both strategies.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 16/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 2 of 10; Journal's citation record 0 of 4; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 3 of 5; Peer-review validation 4 of 10; How recent 5 of 5; Sample size 3 of 4; Effect reported 2 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 1 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. 23 of the 62 points it could be judged on, which is 37 of 100. Raw total 37 of 100, shown as 16 because this is not a peer-reviewed research article.raw total 37 of 100capped at 16 — hatched points do not count

Preprint — not yet peer-reviewed. It scored 37 on the same rubric, but non-peer-reviewed sources are capped at 16, so it shows as 16. Scored zero for study design and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 23 of the 62 points we could judge it on, which is 37 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 2 / 10 Tier 4 — not a peer-reviewed journal (Research Square)
Journal's citation record 0 / 4 Not a journal article, so the journal's record does not count
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 3 / 5 Rated “moderate” in our summary
Peer-review validation 4 / 10 Preprint — not yet peer-reviewed. Hosted on a preprint server.
How recent 5 / 5 2026 — within 1 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 3 / 4 3,706 participants
Effect reported 2 / 3 Effect reported as a number, without an interval or test
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 1 / 2 Not in PubMed, but has a DOI
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Points 23 / 62 Scored on 12 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 23 of the 62 points we could judge it on is 37 out of 100.
Total 37 / 100 Capped to 16 because this is not a peer-reviewed article.

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Liu, J., & Yuan, H. (2026). Early strong anticholinergic initiation and 30-day mortality in older inpatients with dementia: a target trial emulation. Research Square. https://doi.org/10.21203/rs.3.rs-10644330/v1

Vancouver

Liu J, Yuan H. Early strong anticholinergic initiation and 30-day mortality in older inpatients with dementia: a target trial emulation. Research Square. 2026. doi:10.21203/rs.3.rs-10644330/v1.

BibTeX

@article{liu2026-6e68a0ab,
  author  = {Liu, J. and Yuan, H.},
  title   = {{Early strong anticholinergic initiation and 30-day mortality in older inpatients with dementia: a target trial emulation}},
  journal = {Research Square},
  year    = {2026},
  doi     = {10.21203/rs.3.rs-10644330/v1},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.21203/rs.3.rs-10644330/v1}
}

Related studies in How common it is

Also tagged “cholinesterase”

271 studies in the library carry the topic tag “cholinesterase”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 271 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on How common it is

See all studies in How common it is →