Home › Research › Drug development
A multicenter, randomized, placebo-controlled trial for cilostazol in patients with mild cognitive impairment: The COMCID study protocol
Satoshi Saito, Shinsuke Kojima, Naoya Oishi, Ryosuke Kakuta, Takakuni Maki, Fumihiko Yasuno, Kazuyuki Nagatsuka, Haruko Yamamoto et al.. Alzheimer's & dementia (New York, N. Y.), 2016-10-27
Topic: Drug trials: efficacy and safety
The COMCID trial will identify the therapeutic potential of cilostazol. This trial, which is based on a drug repositioning strategy, may aid the development of a neurovascular treatment for neurocognitive disorders.
Key findings
- The COMCID trial will identify the therapeutic potential of cilostazol.
- This trial, which is based on a drug repositioning strategy, may aid the development of a neurovascular treatment for neurocognitive disorders.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Treatments →
Study details
- Study designcohort study
- Evidence strengthHigh
How this study scored 64/100
Published in a leading specialty journal, and it is a cohort study following people over time. Scored zero for sample size, effect reported and studied in people because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record, multi-centre collaboration and free to read, so those were left out: it earned 36 of the 56 points we could judge it on, which is 64 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 9 / 10 | Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (Alzheimer's & dementia (New York, N. Y.)) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 7 / 12 | A cohort study following people over time |
| Strength of evidence | 5 / 5 | Rated “high” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 1 / 5 | 2016 — within 20 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 0 / 4 | Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 0 / 3 | Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Randomised / blinded | 2 / 2 | Randomised and blinded or placebo-controlled (as stated in the record) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 29067312) |
| Free to read | — / 2 | Access not recorded — left out of this score |
| Points | 36 / 56 | Scored on 10 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 36 of the 56 points we could judge it on is 64 out of 100. |
| Total | 64 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
APA 7th
Saito, S., Kojima, S., Oishi, N., Kakuta, R., Maki, T., Yasuno, F., et al. (2016). A multicenter, randomized, placebo-controlled trial for cilostazol in patients with mild cognitive impairment: The COMCID study protocol. Alzheimer's & dementia (New York, N. Y.). https://doi.org/10.1016/j.trci.2016.10.001
Vancouver
Saito S, Kojima S, Oishi N, Kakuta R, Maki T, Yasuno F, et al. A multicenter, randomized, placebo-controlled trial for cilostazol in patients with mild cognitive impairment: The COMCID study protocol. Alzheimer's & dementia (New York, N. Y.). 2016. doi:10.1016/j.trci.2016.10.001. PMID: 29067312.
BibTeX
@article{saito2016-29067312,
author = {Saito, Satoshi and Kojima, Shinsuke and Oishi, Naoya and Kakuta, Ryosuke and Maki, Takakuni and Yasuno, Fumihiko and Nagatsuka, Kazuyuki and Yamamoto, Haruko and others},
title = {{A multicenter, randomized, placebo-controlled trial for cilostazol in patients with mild cognitive impairment: The COMCID study protocol}},
journal = {Alzheimer's \& dementia (New York, N. Y.)},
year = {2016},
doi = {10.1016/j.trci.2016.10.001},
pmid = {29067312},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1016/j.trci.2016.10.001}
}
Related studies in Drug development
Also tagged “cholinesterase”
271 studies in the library carry the topic tag “cholinesterase”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 271 tagged studies.