Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 39 out of 100. Disease mechanisms

Topic: Disease mechanisms in lab and animal studies

Genetically modified mice have provided insights into the progression and pathology of Alzheimer's disease (AD). Here, we have examined two mouse models of AD: the rTg4510 mouse, which overexpresses mutant human Tau gene, and the APP/PS1 mouse, which overexpresses mutant human genes for amyloid precursor protein and presenilin 1. Both models exhibit deficits in hippocampal function, but comparative analyses of these deficits are sparse. We used extracellular field potential recordings in hippocampal slices to study basal synaptic transmission (BST), paired-pulse facilitation (PPF), and long-term potentiation (LTP) at the Schaffer collateral-CA1 pyramidal cell synapses in both models. We found that 6-7, but not 2-3-month-old rTg4510 mice exhibited reduced pre-synaptic activation (fiber volley (FV) amplitude, ∼50%) and field excitatory post-synaptic potential (fEPSP) slope (∼40%) compared to wild-type controls. In contrast to previous reports, BST, when controlled for FV amplitude, was not altered in rTg4510. APP/PS1 mice (2-3 mo and 8-10 mo) had unchanged FV amplitude compared to wild-type controls, while fEPSP slope was reduced by ∼34% in older mice, indicating a deficit in BST. PPF was unchanged in 8-10-month-old APP/PS1 mice, but was reduced in 6-7-month-old rTg4510 mice. LTP was reduced only in older rTg4510 and APP/PS1 mice. Our data suggest that BST deficits appear earlier in APP/PS1 than in rTg4510, which exhibited no BST deficits at the ages tested. However, FV and synaptic plasticity deficits developed earlier in rTg4510. These findings highlight fundamental differences in the progression of synaptic pathology in two genetically distinct models of AD.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 39/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 2 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 0 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read left out, no data. 22 of the 56 points it could be judged on, which is 39 of 100. Total 39 of 100.22 of the 56 points we could judge = 39 of 100

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record, multi-centre collaboration and free to read, so those were left out: it earned 22 of the 56 points we could judge it on, which is 39 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Journal of Alzheimer's disease : JAD)
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 2 / 5 2018 — within 10 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 0 / 3 Laboratory or animal study (title names “app/ps1”) — scores zero
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 29154272)
Free to read — / 2 Access not recorded — left out of this score
Points 22 / 56 Scored on 10 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 22 of the 56 points we could judge it on is 39 out of 100.
Total 39 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Gelman, S., Palma, J., Tombaugh, G., & Ghavami, A. (2018). Differences in Synaptic Dysfunction Between rTg4510 and APP/PS1 Mouse Models of Alzheimer's Disease. Journal of Alzheimer's disease : JAD. https://doi.org/10.3233/jad-170457

Vancouver

Gelman S, Palma J, Tombaugh G, Ghavami A. Differences in Synaptic Dysfunction Between rTg4510 and APP/PS1 Mouse Models of Alzheimer's Disease. Journal of Alzheimer's disease : JAD. 2018. doi:10.3233/jad-170457. PMID: 29154272.

BibTeX

@article{gelman2018-29154272,
  author  = {Gelman, Simon and Palma, Jonathan and Tombaugh, Geoffrey and Ghavami, Afshin},
  title   = {{Differences in Synaptic Dysfunction Between rTg4510 and APP/PS1 Mouse Models of Alzheimer's Disease}},
  journal = {Journal of Alzheimer's disease : JAD},
  year    = {2018},
  doi     = {10.3233/jad-170457},
  pmid    = {29154272},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.3233/jad-170457}
}

Related studies in Disease mechanisms

Similar studies

More on Disease mechanisms

See all studies in Disease mechanisms →