Home › Research › Tau biomarkers
CSF α-Synuclein Seed Amplification Assays and Alzheimer Disease Biomarkers in Dementia With Lewy Bodies: Presentation and Progression
Coughlin DG, Jain L, Khrestian M, Bozoki AC, Galvin JE, Irwin DJ, Lippa CF, Litvan I et al.. Neurology, 2025-11-17
Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis
Background and objectives α-Synuclein (αSyn) seed amplification assays (SAAs) accurately detect αSyn pathology in dementia with Lewy bodies (DLB). Alzheimer disease (AD) copathology occurs in ∼70% of patients with DLB at autopsy. The association of different αSyn-SAA and AD biomarker profiles with clinical outcomes in DLB can aid prognostication and inform clinical trial design.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Coughlin, D. G., Jain, L., Khrestian, M., Bozoki, A. C., Galvin, J. E., Irwin, D. J., et al. (2025). CSF α-Synuclein Seed Amplification Assays and Alzheimer Disease Biomarkers in Dementia With Lewy Bodies: Presentation and Progression. Neurology. https://doi.org/10.1212/wnl.0000000000214346
Vancouver
Coughlin DG, Jain L, Khrestian M, Bozoki AC, Galvin JE, Irwin DJ, et al. CSF α-Synuclein Seed Amplification Assays and Alzheimer Disease Biomarkers in Dementia With Lewy Bodies: Presentation and Progression. Neurology. 2025. doi:10.1212/wnl.0000000000214346. PMID: 41248454.
BibTeX
@article{coughlin2025-41248454,
author = {Coughlin, D. G. and Jain, L. and Khrestian, M. and Bozoki, A. C. and Galvin, J. E. and Irwin, D. J. and Lippa, C. F. and Litvan, I. and others},
title = {{CSF α-Synuclein Seed Amplification Assays and Alzheimer Disease Biomarkers in Dementia With Lewy Bodies: Presentation and Progression}},
journal = {Neurology},
year = {2025},
doi = {10.1212/wnl.0000000000214346},
pmid = {41248454},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1212/wnl.0000000000214346}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- Alzheimer disease (AD) copathology occurs in ∼70% of patients with DLB at autopsy.
- The association of different αSyn-SAA and AD biomarker profiles with clinical outcomes in DLB can aid prognostication and inform clinical trial design.
- Methods This is a cross-sectional study of participants in the DLB Consortium (DLBC) study.
- The DLBC is a multicentered prospective longitudinal cohort study with participants recruited at tertiary care centers in the United States.
Why it matters
This study looked at how different alpha-synuclein seed amplification assay and Alzheimer's biomarker profiles relate to presentation and progression in dementia with Lewy bodies. It aims to help prognosis and clinical trial design, not to treat, cure or prevent Alzheimer's disease.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Blood tests & biomarkers →
Study details
- Study designcohort study
- Evidence strengthModerate
How this study scored 53/100
Published in a leading specialty journal, and it is a cohort study following people over time. Scored zero for sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 9 / 10 | Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (Neurology) |
| Journal's citation record | 4 / 4 | Neurology: journal h-index 525 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29) |
| Study design | 7 / 12 | A cohort study following people over time |
| Strength of evidence | 3 / 5 | Rated “moderate” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 4 / 5 | 2025 — within 3 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 0 / 4 | Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 0 / 3 | Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | 2 / 7 | Cited 5 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10) |
| Citations per year | 1 / 5 | 1.7 citations a year over 3 year(s) since 2025 |
| Impact for its field and year | 2 / 6 | Cited 2.8× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI) |
| Cited by studies here | 0 / 6 | No other study in this library cites it |
| Still being cited | 1 / 4 | Cited 5 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex) |
| Senior author's track record | 2 / 4 | Last-listed author Jing Zhang: h-index 22 (OpenAlex, whole career) |
| Institution's track record | 3 / 3 | University of Washington: institution h-index 3,540 (OpenAlex) |
| Multi-centre collaboration | 3 / 3 | OpenAlex lists 11 institution(s) in 1 country |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 41248454) |
| Free to read | 0 / 2 | Behind a paywall — scores zero |
| Total | 53 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
- DOI: 10.1212/wnl.0000000000214346
- PubMed: 41248454
- Original source →
- Free full text: PubMed Central →
Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).
Studies this one cites
Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here.
Related studies in Tau biomarkers
Also tagged “cerebrospinal”
821 studies in the library carry the topic tag “cerebrospinal”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 821 tagged studies.