Home › Research › Brain scans and imaging
Comparative In Vitro and In Vivo Quantifications of Pathologic Tau Deposits and Their Association with Neurodegeneration in Tauopathy Mouse Models
Ni R, Ji B, Ono M, Sahara N, Zhang MR, Aoki I, Nordberg A, Suhara T et al.. Journal of nuclear medicine : official publication, Society of Nuclear Medicine, 2018-02-01
Topic: Brain proteins, microglia and lab models
In vivo 11 C-PBB3 binding to the rTg4510 neocortex/hippocampus was increased relative to controls and correlated with local atrophy. In vitro 11 C-PBB3 binding in the neocortex/hippocampus also correlated well with in vivo radioligand binding and regional atrophy in the same individual rTg4510 mice. By contrast, in vitro 11 C-PBB3 binding was elevated in the brain stem but not hippocampus of PS19 mice, despite a pronounced loss of neurons in the hippocampus rather than brain stem. Finally, 11 C-PBB3 and AV-1451 showed similar binding properties between mouse models and tauopathy patients. The present findings support the distinct utilities of 11 C-PBB3 PET and MRI in rTg4510 and PS19 mice for quantitatively pursuing mechanisms connecting PET-detectable and PET-undetectable tau aggregations to neuronal death, which recapitulate 2 different modes of tau-provoked neurotoxicity.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Ni, R., Ji, B., Ono, M., Sahara, N., Zhang, M. R., Aoki, I., et al. (2018). Comparative In Vitro and In Vivo Quantifications of Pathologic Tau Deposits and Their Association with Neurodegeneration in Tauopathy Mouse Models. Journal of nuclear medicine : official publication, Society of Nuclear Medicine. https://doi.org/10.2967/jnumed.117.201632
Vancouver
Ni R, Ji B, Ono M, Sahara N, Zhang MR, Aoki I, et al. Comparative In Vitro and In Vivo Quantifications of Pathologic Tau Deposits and Their Association with Neurodegeneration in Tauopathy Mouse Models. Journal of nuclear medicine : official publication, Society of Nuclear Medicine. 2018. doi:10.2967/jnumed.117.201632. PMID: 29419480.
BibTeX
@article{ni2018-29419480,
author = {Ni, R. and Ji, B. and Ono, M. and Sahara, N. and Zhang, M. R. and Aoki, I. and Nordberg, A. and Suhara, T. and others},
title = {{Comparative In Vitro and In Vivo Quantifications of Pathologic Tau Deposits and Their Association with Neurodegeneration in Tauopathy Mouse Models}},
journal = {Journal of nuclear medicine : official publication, Society of Nuclear Medicine},
year = {2018},
doi = {10.2967/jnumed.117.201632},
pmid = {29419480},
url = {https://doi.org/10.2967/jnumed.117.201632}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- In vivo 11 C-PBB3 binding to the rTg4510 neocortex/hippocampus was increased relative to controls and correlated with local atrophy.
- In vitro 11 C-PBB3 binding in the neocortex/hippocampus also correlated well with in vivo radioligand binding and regional atrophy in the same individual rTg4510 mice.
- By contrast, in vitro 11 C-PBB3 binding was elevated in the brain stem but not hippocampus of PS19 mice, despite a pronounced loss of neurons in the hippocampus rather than brain stem.
- Finally, 11 C-PBB3 and AV-1451 showed similar binding properties between mouse models and tauopathy patients.
- The present findings support the distinct utilities of 11 C-PBB3 PET and MRI in rTg4510 and PS19 mice for quantitatively pursuing mechanisms connecting PET-detectable and PET-undetectable tau aggregations to neuronal death, which recapitulate 2 different modes of tau-provoked neurotoxicity.
Why it matters
This study in tauopathy mouse models compared in-vitro and in-vivo measures of tau deposits and their link to brain atrophy. It is animal research into how tau relates to nerve cell loss and does not test a treatment, cure or prevention for Alzheimer's disease in people.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Brain scans & tests →
Study details
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 41/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Journal of nuclear medicine : official publication, Society of Nuclear Medicine) |
| Journal's citation record | 2 / 4 | Journal of Nuclear Medicine: journal h-index 230 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29) |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 2 / 5 | 2018 — within 10 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 0 / 4 | Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 0 / 3 | Laboratory or animal study (title names “in vitro”) — scores zero |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | 4 / 7 | Cited 76 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10) |
| Citations per year | 2 / 5 | 7.6 citations a year over 10 year(s) since 2018 |
| Impact for its field and year | 3 / 6 | Cited 4.9× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI) |
| Cited by studies here | 0 / 6 | No other study in this library cites it |
| Still being cited | 2 / 4 | Cited 16 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex) |
| Senior author's track record | 3 / 4 | Last-listed author Makoto Higuchi: h-index 73 (OpenAlex, whole career) |
| Institution's track record | 1 / 3 | Karolinska Institutet: institution h-index 1,477 (OpenAlex) |
| Multi-centre collaboration | 2 / 3 | OpenAlex lists 4 institution(s) in 2 countries |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 29419480) |
| Free to read | 0 / 2 | Behind a paywall — scores zero |
| Total | 41 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
- DOI: 10.2967/jnumed.117.201632
- PubMed: 29419480
- Original source →
- Free full text: Journal of Nuclear Medicine →
Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).
Studies this one cites
Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here.
Related studies in Brain scans and imaging
Also tagged “phosphorylated”
732 studies in the library carry the topic tag “phosphorylated”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 732 tagged studies.