Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 47 out of 100. Drug development

Topic: Drug trials: efficacy and safety

The overall objective of the guideline is to provide up‐to‐date, evidence‐based recommendations for the management of bullous pemphigoid (BP). It is recognized that under certain conditions it may be necessary to deviate from the guidelines and that the results of future studies may require some of the recommendations herein to be changed. Autoantibodies of IgG type (and less commonly IgA, IgM and IgE) attack components of the adhesion complex of the basement membrane zone (BMZ) and result in subepidermal blistering. Recently it has been shown that BP is associated with neurological disease such as cerebrovascular disease, dementia, Parkinson disease, epilepsy and multiple sclerosis.7–10 These conditions pre‐date BP and hence are considered as risk factors. There are a number of anecdotal case reports suggesting an association between BP and some drugs.11–15 A recent small case series reported BP occurring in five diabetic patients taking an oral hypoglycaemic agent, gliptin (dipeptidyl peptidase‐IV inhibitor), together with metformin.16 To date there are three epidemiological studies on the subject of BP and drugs.8, 17, 18 Two French case–control studies, both by the same author, have described a significant relationship with the use of spironolactone and neuroleptics.8, 17 A recent U.K. case–control study found an association only with furosemide after adjusting for cardiovascular and neurological disease.18 The mechanism by which drugs may induce BP has not been studied. Pruritus alone or associated with erythema and/or urticated plaques may precede formation of bullae by weeks or months; in some cases bullae may not become clinically apparent. If using saline, the biopsy must be processed within 24–48 h;19 with Michel’s medium prompt handling is to be preferred, but a longer delay of up to 2 weeks may still yield results.20 Indirect IF (IIF) is performed on serum, and if this is not obtainable, on blister fluid. Antibodies in BP serum usually detect antigens at the roof of the salt‐split skin. most cases this may to BP from other immunobullous such as and some cases of membrane pemphigoid in both of which are on the of the split skin. recent has as an for some autoimmune bullous diseases. of to both BP180 and BP230 can be with available with the BP180 the BP230 The is an important of the BP180 and is used in BP180 to detect that with disease results using the same were reported in of with The is not available in the U.K. but is a in selected cases and

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 47/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 5 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 1 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 0 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 2 of 2. 27 of the 58 points it could be judged on, which is 47 of 100. Total 47 of 100.27 of the 58 points we could judge = 47 of 100

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 27 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 47 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (British Journal of Dermatology)
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 5 / 5 Rated “high” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 1 / 5 2012 — within 20 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 0 / 3 Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 23121204)
Free to read 2 / 2 Free to read
Points 27 / 58 Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 27 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 47 out of 100.
Total 47 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Venning, V. A., Taghipour, K., Mustapa, M. M., Highet, A., Kirtschig, G., Hughes, J., et al. (2012). British Association of Dermatologists’ guidelines for the management of bullous pemphigoid 2012. British Journal of Dermatology. https://doi.org/10.1111/bjd.12072

Vancouver

Venning VA, Taghipour K, Mustapa MM, Highet A, Kirtschig G, Hughes J, et al. British Association of Dermatologists’ guidelines for the management of bullous pemphigoid 2012. British Journal of Dermatology. 2012. doi:10.1111/bjd.12072. PMID: 23121204.

BibTeX

@article{venning2012-23121204,
  author  = {Venning, Vanessa A. and Taghipour, Kathy and Mustapa, M.F. Mohd and Highet, A.S. and Kirtschig, Gudula and Hughes, J.R. and McLelland, J. and McDonagh, Andrew J. G. and others},
  title   = {{British Association of Dermatologists’ guidelines for the management of bullous pemphigoid 2012}},
  journal = {British Journal of Dermatology},
  year    = {2012},
  doi     = {10.1111/bjd.12072},
  pmid    = {23121204},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1111/bjd.12072}
}

Related studies in Drug development

Also tagged “cholinesterase”

271 studies in the library carry the topic tag “cholinesterase”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 271 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Drug development

See all studies in Drug development →