Home › Research › Clinical trials
Alzheimer's drug-development pipeline: 2016
Jeffrey Cummings, Travis Morstorf, Garam Lee. Alzheimer's & dementia (New York, N. Y.), 2016-08-17
Topic: Drug trials: efficacy and safety
There are currently 24 agents in 36 trials in phase III of AD drug development. Seven of these 24 agents are symptomatic cognitive-enhancing compounds, and 17 are disease-modifying treatments (DMTs). Most DMTs address amyloid-related targets (76%). There are 45 agents in phase II being assessed in 52 clinical trials. Phase II trials include 30 DMTs, with 26 small molecules and 4 immunotherapies. There are 24 agents in the first phase of AD drug development. Amyloid is the principal target of late-stage development programs. There are relatively few agents in clinical trials for AD suggesting a need to amplify the drug discovery ecosystem.
Key findings
- There are currently 24 agents in 36 trials in phase III of AD drug development.
- Seven of these 24 agents are symptomatic cognitive-enhancing compounds, and 17 are disease-modifying treatments (DMTs).
- Most DMTs address amyloid-related targets (76%).
- There are 45 agents in phase II being assessed in 52 clinical trials.
- Phase II trials include 30 DMTs, with 26 small molecules and 4 immunotherapies.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Registered clinical trials →
Study details
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 41/100
Published in a leading specialty journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record, multi-centre collaboration and free to read, so those were left out: it earned 23 of the 56 points we could judge it on, which is 41 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 9 / 10 | Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (Alzheimer's & dementia (New York, N. Y.)) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 1 / 5 | 2016 — within 20 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 0 / 4 | Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 0 / 3 | Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 29067309) |
| Free to read | — / 2 | Access not recorded — left out of this score |
| Points | 23 / 56 | Scored on 10 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 23 of the 56 points we could judge it on is 41 out of 100. |
| Total | 41 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
APA 7th
Cummings, J., Morstorf, T., & Lee, G. (2016). Alzheimer's drug-development pipeline: 2016. Alzheimer's & dementia (New York, N. Y.). https://doi.org/10.1016/j.trci.2016.07.001
Vancouver
Cummings J, Morstorf T, Lee G. Alzheimer's drug-development pipeline: 2016. Alzheimer's & dementia (New York, N. Y.). 2016. doi:10.1016/j.trci.2016.07.001. PMID: 29067309.
BibTeX
@article{cummings2016-29067309,
author = {Cummings, Jeffrey and Morstorf, Travis and Lee, Garam},
title = {{Alzheimer's drug-development pipeline: 2016}},
journal = {Alzheimer's \& dementia (New York, N. Y.)},
year = {2016},
doi = {10.1016/j.trci.2016.07.001},
pmid = {29067309},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1016/j.trci.2016.07.001}
}
Related studies in Clinical trials
Also tagged “aducanumab”
332 studies in the library carry the topic tag “aducanumab”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 332 tagged studies.