Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 55 out of 100. Drug development

Topic: Drug trials: efficacy and safety

Introduction New therapies to prevent or delay the onset of symptoms, slow progression, or improve cognitive and behavioral symptoms of Alzheimer's disease (AD) are needed. Methods We interrogated clinicaltrials.gov including all clinical trials assessing pharmaceutical therapies for AD active in on January 1, 2024. We used the Common Alzheimer's Disease Research Ontology (CADRO) to classify the targets of therapies in the pipeline. Results There are 164 trials assessing 127 drugs across the 2024 AD pipeline. There were 48 trials in Phase 3 testing 32 drugs, 90 trials in Phase 2 assessing 81 drugs, and 26 trials in Phase 1 testing 25 agents. Of the 164 trials, 34% ( N = 56) assess disease-modifying biological agents, 41% ( N = 68) test disease-modifying small molecule drugs, 10% ( N = 17) evaluate cognitive enhancing agents, and 14% ( N = 23) test drugs for the treatment of neuropsychiatric symptoms. Discussion Compared to the 2023 pipeline, there are fewer trials (164 vs. 187), fewer drugs (127 vs. 141), fewer new chemical entities (88 vs. 101), and a similar number of repurposed agents (39 vs. 40). Highlights In the 2024 Alzheimer's disease drug development pipeline, there are 164 clinical trials assessing 127 drugs.The 2024 Alzheimer's disease drug development pipeline has contracted compared to the 2023 Alzheimer pipeline with fewer trials, fewer drugs, and fewer new chemical entities.Drugs in the Alzheimer's disease drug development pipeline target a wide array of targets; the most common processes targeted include neurotransmitter receptors, inflammation, amyloid, and synaptic plasticity.The total development time for a potential Alzheimer's disease therapy to progress from nonclinical studies to FDA review is approximately 13 years.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Cummings, J., Zhou, Y., Lee, G., Zhong, K., Fonseca, J., & Cheng, F. (2024). Alzheimer's disease drug development pipeline: 2024. Alzheimer's & dementia (New York, N. Y.). https://doi.org/10.1002/trc2.12465

Vancouver

Cummings J, Zhou Y, Lee G, Zhong K, Fonseca J, Cheng F. Alzheimer's disease drug development pipeline: 2024. Alzheimer's & dementia (New York, N. Y.). 2024. doi:10.1002/trc2.12465. PMID: 38659717.

BibTeX

@article{cummings2024-38659717,
  author  = {Cummings, J. and Zhou, Y. and Lee, G. and Zhong, K. and Fonseca, J. and Cheng, F.},
  title   = {{Alzheimer's disease drug development pipeline: 2024}},
  journal = {Alzheimer's \& dementia (New York, N. Y.)},
  year    = {2024},
  doi     = {10.1002/trc2.12465},
  pmid    = {38659717},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1002/trc2.12465}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 55/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 9 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 4 of 5; Sample size 1 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 2 of 2. 32 of the 58 points it could be judged on, which is 55 of 100. Total 55 of 100.32 of the 58 points we could judge = 55 of 100

Published in a leading specialty journal. Scored zero for study design, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 32 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 55 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 9 / 10 Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (Alzheimer's & dementia (New York, N. Y.))
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 0 / 12 Design recorded as “clinical trial”, which our rubric does not rank (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 4 / 5 2024 — within 3 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 1 / 4 56 participants
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 38659717)
Free to read 2 / 2 Free to read
Points 32 / 58 Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 32 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 55 out of 100.
Total 55 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Related studies in Drug development

Also tagged “aducanumab”

332 studies in the library carry the topic tag “aducanumab”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 332 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Drug development

See all studies in Drug development →