Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 40 out of 100. End-of-life care

Topic: Risk, prevention and care in population studies

Context Advance care planning (ACP) is key to good palliative care for nursing home (NH) residents with dementia. Objectives We examined the extent to which the family physicians (FPs), nurses, and the relative most involved in the resident's care are informed about ACP, written advance directives, and FP treatment orders (FP-orders) for NH residents dying with dementia. We also examined the congruence among FP, nurse, and relative regarding the content of ACP. Methods This was a representative nationwide post-mortem study (2010) in Flanders, Belgium, using random cluster sampling. In selected NHs, all deaths of residents with dementia in a three month period were reported. A structured questionnaire was completed by the FP, the nurse, and the patient's relative. Results We identified 205 deceased residents with dementia in 69 NHs. Residents expressed their wishes regarding end-of-life care in 11.8% of cases according to the FP. The FP and nurse spoke with the resident in 22.0% and 9.7% of cases, respectively, and with the relative in 70.6% and 59.5%, respectively. An advance directive was present in 9.0%, 13.6%, and 18.4% of the cases according to the FP, nurse, and the relative, respectively. The FP-orders were present in 77.3% according to the FP, and discussed with the resident in 13.0% and with the relative in 79.3%. Congruence was fair (FP-nurse) on the documentation of FP-orders (k=0.26), and poor to slight on the presence of an advance directive (FP-relative, k=0.03; nurse-relative, k=-0.05; FP-nurse k=0.12). Conclusion Communication regarding care is rarely patient driven and more often professional caregiver or family driven. The level of congruence between professional caregivers and relatives is low.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 40/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 1 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 2 of 3; Studied in people 0 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. 23 of the 58 points it could be judged on, which is 40 of 100. Total 40 of 100.23 of the 58 points we could judge = 40 of 100

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 23 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 40 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Journal of pain and symptom management)
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 1 / 5 2014 — within 20 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 2 / 3 Effect reported as a number, without an interval or test
Studied in people 0 / 3 Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 23796587)
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Points 23 / 58 Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 23 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 40 out of 100.
Total 40 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Vandervoort, A., Houttekier, D., Van den Block, L., van der Steen, J. T., Vander Stichele, R., & Deliens, L. (2014). Advance care planning and physician orders in nursing home residents with dementia: a nationwide retrospective study among professional caregivers and relatives. Journal of pain and symptom management. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jpainsymman.2013.03.009

Vancouver

Vandervoort A, Houttekier D, Van den Block L, van der Steen JT, Vander Stichele R, Deliens L. Advance care planning and physician orders in nursing home residents with dementia: a nationwide retrospective study among professional caregivers and relatives. Journal of pain and symptom management. 2014. doi:10.1016/j.jpainsymman.2013.03.009. PMID: 23796587.

BibTeX

@article{vandervoort2014-23796587,
  author  = {Vandervoort, A. and Houttekier, D. and Van den Block, L. and van der Steen, J. T. and Vander Stichele, R. and Deliens, L.},
  title   = {{Advance care planning and physician orders in nursing home residents with dementia: a nationwide retrospective study among professional caregivers and relatives}},
  journal = {Journal of pain and symptom management},
  year    = {2014},
  doi     = {10.1016/j.jpainsymman.2013.03.009},
  pmid    = {23796587},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jpainsymman.2013.03.009}
}

Related studies in End-of-life care

Similar studies

More on End-of-life care

See all studies in End-of-life care →