Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 53 out of 100. Tau biomarkers

Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis

Purpose To investigate fluorescence lifetime imaging ophthalmoscopy (FLIO) findings in preclinical Alzheimer's disease (AD). Methods This prospective, observational study enrolled patients with early AD undergoing Alzheimer's biomarker analysis and matched controls. Alzheimer-associated parameters (β-amyloid [Aβ], total tau in cerebrospinal fluid [CSF], Mini-Mental Status Examination [MMSE], etc.), risk factor-associated data (body mass index [BMI], hypertension, lipid profile, etc.), ganglion cell layer plus inner plexiform layer (GCIPL) thickness in structural optical coherence tomography (OCT), OCT angiography data, and FLIO-derived parameters (τ m , τ 1 , τ 2 , and τ 3 ) in short and long spectral channels (SSC and LSC) were compared and correlated between the two groups.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Sadda, SR., Borrelli, E., Fan, W., Ebraheem, A., Marion, K. M., Harrington, M., et al. (2019). A pilot study of fluorescence lifetime imaging ophthalmoscopy in preclinical Alzheimer's disease. Eye (London, England). https://doi.org/10.1038/s41433-019-0406-2

Vancouver

Sadda SR, Borrelli E, Fan W, Ebraheem A, Marion KM, Harrington M, et al. A pilot study of fluorescence lifetime imaging ophthalmoscopy in preclinical Alzheimer's disease. Eye (London, England). 2019. doi:10.1038/s41433-019-0406-2. PMID: 30923356.

BibTeX

@article{sadda2019-30923356,
  author  = {Sadda, SR. and Borrelli, E. and Fan, W. and Ebraheem, A. and Marion, K. M. and Harrington, M. and Kwon, S.},
  title   = {{A pilot study of fluorescence lifetime imaging ophthalmoscopy in preclinical Alzheimer's disease}},
  journal = {Eye (London, England)},
  year    = {2019},
  doi     = {10.1038/s41433-019-0406-2},
  pmid    = {30923356},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1038/s41433-019-0406-2}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record names 7 authors; APA and Vancouver show the first six, BibTeX and the downloads carry all of them. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Why it matters

This pilot study used fluorescence lifetime imaging ophthalmoscopy to look for retinal findings in preclinical Alzheimer's disease and compared them with controls. It is a small observational eye-imaging study, not a treatment, cure, or prevention for Alzheimer's disease.

Study details

How this study scored 53/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record 2 of 4; Study design 7 of 12; Strength of evidence 3 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 2 of 5; Sample size 1 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited 4 of 7; Citations per year 2 of 5; Impact for its field and year 3 of 6; Cited by studies here 0 of 6; Still being cited 2 of 4; Senior author's track record 1 of 4; Institution's track record 2 of 3; Multi-centre collaboration 2 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. Total 53 of 100.53 of 100 points earned47 not earned

Published in a peer-reviewed journal, and it is a longitudinal study following the same people over time. Scored zero for effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Eye (London, England))
Journal's citation record 2 / 4 Eye: journal h-index 169 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29)
Study design 7 / 12 A longitudinal study following the same people over time
Strength of evidence 3 / 5 Rated “moderate” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 2 / 5 2019 — within 10 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 1 / 4 15 participants
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited 4 / 7 Cited 46 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10)
Citations per year 2 / 5 5.1 citations a year over 9 year(s) since 2019
Impact for its field and year 3 / 6 Cited 3.3× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI)
Cited by studies here 0 / 6 No other study in this library cites it
Still being cited 2 / 4 Cited 21 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex)
Senior author's track record 1 / 4 Last-listed author Soonil Kwon: h-index 17 (OpenAlex, whole career)
Institution's track record 2 / 3 University of California, Los Angeles: institution h-index 1,923 (OpenAlex)
Multi-centre collaboration 2 / 3 OpenAlex lists 5 institution(s) in 2 countries
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 30923356)
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Total 53 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).

Studies this one cites

Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here.

Related studies in Tau biomarkers

Also tagged “machine”

835 studies in the library carry the topic tag “machine”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 835 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Tau biomarkers

See all studies in Tau biomarkers →