Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 41 out of 100. Cognitive tests and assessment

Topic: Brain imaging, connectivity and assessment

The One Card Learning Test (OCL80) from the Cogstate Brief Battery-a digital cognitive test used both in-person and remotely in clinical trials and in healthcare contexts to inform health decisions-has shown high sensitivity to changes in memory in early Alzheimer's disease (AD). However, recent studies suggest that OCL sensitivity to memory impairment in symptomatic AD is not as strong as that for other standardized assessments of memory. This study aimed to improve the sensitivity of the OCL80 to AD-related memory impairment by reducing the test difficultly (i.e., OCL48). Experiment 1 showed performance in healthy adults improved on the OCL48 while the pattern separation operations that constrain performance on the OCL80 were retained. Experiment 2 showed repeated administration of the OCL48 at short retest intervals did not induce ceiling or practice effects. Experiment 3 showed that the sensitivity of the OCL48 to AD-related memory impairment (Glass's Δ = 3.11) was much greater than the sensitivity of the OCL80 (Glass's Δ = 1.94). Experiment 4 used data from a large group of cognitively normal older adults to calibrate performance scores between the OCL80 and OCL48 using equipercentile equating. Together these results showed the OCL48 to be a valid and reliable test of learning with greater sensitivity to memory impairment in AD than the OCL80.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 41/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 3 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 0 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read left out, no data. 23 of the 56 points it could be judged on, which is 41 of 100. Total 41 of 100.23 of the 56 points we could judge = 41 of 100

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record, multi-centre collaboration and free to read, so those were left out: it earned 23 of the 56 points we could judge it on, which is 41 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Frontiers in digital health)
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 3 / 5 2021 — within 6 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 0 / 3 Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 34881380)
Free to read — / 2 Access not recorded — left out of this score
Points 23 / 56 Scored on 10 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 23 of the 56 points we could judge it on is 41 out of 100.
Total 41 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

White, J. P., Schembri, A., Edgar, C. J., Lim, Y. Y., Masters, C. L., & Maruff, P. (2021). A Paradox in Digital Memory Assessment: Increased Sensitivity With Reduced Difficulty. Frontiers in digital health. https://doi.org/10.3389/fdgth.2021.780303

Vancouver

White JP, Schembri A, Edgar CJ, Lim YY, Masters CL, Maruff P. A Paradox in Digital Memory Assessment: Increased Sensitivity With Reduced Difficulty. Frontiers in digital health. 2021. doi:10.3389/fdgth.2021.780303. PMID: 34881380.

BibTeX

@article{white2021-34881380,
  author  = {White, Joshua P and Schembri, Adrian and Edgar, Chris J and Lim, Yen Ying and Masters, Colin L and Maruff, Paul},
  title   = {{A Paradox in Digital Memory Assessment: Increased Sensitivity With Reduced Difficulty}},
  journal = {Frontiers in digital health},
  year    = {2021},
  doi     = {10.3389/fdgth.2021.780303},
  pmid    = {34881380},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.3389/fdgth.2021.780303}
}

Related studies in Cognitive tests and assessment

Similar studies

More on Cognitive tests and assessment

See all studies in Cognitive tests and assessment →