Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 53 out of 100. Cognitive tests and assessment

Topic: Risk, prevention and care in population studies

Significant hazard ratios (HRs) for dementia incidence were found using the MMSE cutoff between 23 and 24 point (HR 1.93, 95% CI 1.13-3.27) and the J-Cog cutoff between 43 and 44 points (HR 2.42, 95% CI 1.50-3.93). In the total validation group, the C-statistic was above 0.8 for all cutoff points. Akaike information criterion with MMSE cutoff between 23 and 24 points as a reference showed a poor fit for MMSE cutoff between 28 and 29 points, and a good fit for the J-Cog cutoff between 43 and 44 points. The J-Cog has higher accuracy in predicting the development of dementia than the MMSE and has advantages for use in the community as a test of cognitive function, which can be administered by nonprofessionals.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Shimada, H., Doi, T., Tsutsumimoto, K., Makino, K., Harada, K., Tomida, K., et al. (2025). A New Computer-Based Cognitive Measure for Early Detection of Dementia Risk (Japan Cognitive Function Test): Validation Study. Journal of medical Internet research. https://doi.org/10.2196/59015

Vancouver

Shimada H, Doi T, Tsutsumimoto K, Makino K, Harada K, Tomida K, et al. A New Computer-Based Cognitive Measure for Early Detection of Dementia Risk (Japan Cognitive Function Test): Validation Study. Journal of medical Internet research. 2025. doi:10.2196/59015. PMID: 39951718.

BibTeX

@article{shimada2025-39951718,
  author  = {Shimada, Hiroyuki and Doi, Takehiko and Tsutsumimoto, Kota and Makino, Keitaro and Harada, Kenji and Tomida, Kouki and Morikawa, Masanori and Makizako, Hyuma},
  title   = {{A New Computer-Based Cognitive Measure for Early Detection of Dementia Risk (Japan Cognitive Function Test): Validation Study}},
  journal = {Journal of medical Internet research},
  year    = {2025},
  doi     = {10.2196/59015},
  pmid    = {39951718},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.2196/59015}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record names 8 authors; APA and Vancouver show the first six, BibTeX and the downloads carry all of them. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Why it matters

In this case-control study, the computer-based Japan Cognitive Function Test predicted dementia incidence with a higher hazard ratio and better fit than the MMSE and can be administered by nonprofessionals. This is about improving cognitive screening in the community, not about treating, curing, or preventing Alzheimer's disease.

Study details

How this study scored 53/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 6 of 12; Strength of evidence 3 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 4 of 5; Sample size 2 of 4; Effect reported 3 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited 1 of 7; Citations per year 1 of 5; Impact for its field and year 2 of 6; Cited by studies here 0 of 6; Still being cited 1 of 4; Senior author's track record 3 of 4; Institution's track record 0 of 3; Multi-centre collaboration 1 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 2 of 2. 51 of the 96 points it could be judged on, which is 53 of 100. Total 53 of 100.51 of the 96 points we could judge = 53 of 100

Published in a peer-reviewed journal, and it is a case-control study. Scored zero for randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, so that was left out: it earned 51 of the 96 points we could judge it on, which is 53 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Journal of medical Internet research)
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 6 / 12 A case-control study
Strength of evidence 3 / 5 Rated “moderate” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 4 / 5 2025 — within 3 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 2 / 4 100 participants
Effect reported 3 / 3 Effect reported with a statistic (interval, p-value, ratio or similar)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited 1 / 7 Cited 4 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10)
Citations per year 1 / 5 1.3 citations a year over 3 year(s) since 2025
Impact for its field and year 2 / 6 Cited 2.5× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI)
Cited by studies here 0 / 6 No other study in this library cites it
Still being cited 1 / 4 Cited 4 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex)
Senior author's track record 3 / 4 Last-listed author Hyuma Makizako: h-index 54 (OpenAlex, whole career)
Institution's track record 0 / 3 Kagoshima University: institution h-index 377 (OpenAlex)
Multi-centre collaboration 1 / 3 OpenAlex lists 2 institution(s) in 1 country
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 39951718)
Free to read 2 / 2 Free to read
Points 51 / 96 Scored on 19 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 51 of the 96 points we could judge it on is 53 out of 100.
Total 53 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).

Related studies in Cognitive tests and assessment

Also tagged “prevalence”

1,224 studies in the library carry the topic tag “prevalence”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 1,224 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Cognitive tests and assessment

See all studies in Cognitive tests and assessment →