Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 50 out of 100. Risk factors

Topic: Brain imaging, connectivity and assessment

Objective To determine whether impaired visual acuity is associated with dementia and cognitive dysfunction in older adults. Design Paired case-control comparisons of the relative frequencies of visual impairment in demented cases and nondemented controls. Cohort analyses of correlation between visual acuity and cognitive functioning in demented cases. Setting Internal medicine clinics at two academically affiliated medical centers. Participants Eighty-seven consecutively selected patients greater than or equal to 65 years of age with mild-to-moderate, clinically diagnosed Alzheimer's disease (cases) and 87 nondemented controls matched to the cases by age, sex, and education. Measurements and main results The prevalence of visual impairment was higher in cases than in controls [unadjusted odds ratio for near-vision impairment = 2.7 (95% CI = 1.4, 5.2); unadjusted odds ratio for far-vision impairment = 2.1 (95% CI = 1.02, 4.3); odds ratios adjusted for family history of dementia, depression, number of medications, and hearing loss were 2.5 (95% CI = 1.1, 10.5) for near-vision impairment and 1.9 (95% CI = 0.8, 4.6) for far-vision impairment]. When further stratified by quartiles of visual acuity, no statistically significant "dose-response" relationship between vision impairment and dementia risk was observed. Among cases, the degree of visual impairment was significantly correlated with the severity of cognitive dysfunction for both near and far vision (adjusted ps less than 0.001). Conclusions Visual impairment is associated with both an increased risk and an increased clinical severity of Alzheimer's disease, but the increased risk may not be consistent with a progressive dose-response relationship. Further studies are needed to determine whether visual impairment unmasks and exacerbates the symptoms of dementia or is a marker of disease severity.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Uhlmann, R. F., Larson, E. B., Koepsell, T. D., Rees, T. S., & Duckert, L. G. (1991). Visual impairment and cognitive dysfunction in Alzheimer's disease. Journal of general internal medicine. https://doi.org/10.1007/bf02598307

Vancouver

Uhlmann RF, Larson EB, Koepsell TD, Rees TS, Duckert LG. Visual impairment and cognitive dysfunction in Alzheimer's disease. Journal of general internal medicine. 1991. doi:10.1007/bf02598307. PMID: 2023019.

BibTeX

@article{uhlmann1991-2023019,
  author  = {Uhlmann, R. F. and Larson, E. B. and Koepsell, T. D. and Rees, T. S. and Duckert, L. G.},
  title   = {{Visual impairment and cognitive dysfunction in Alzheimer's disease}},
  journal = {Journal of general internal medicine},
  year    = {1991},
  doi     = {10.1007/bf02598307},
  pmid    = {2023019},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1007/bf02598307}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 50/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 6 of 12; Strength of evidence 3 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 1 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 0 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. 29 of the 58 points it could be judged on, which is 50 of 100. Total 50 of 100.29 of the 58 points we could judge = 50 of 100

Published in a peer-reviewed journal, and it is a case-control study. Scored zero for sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 29 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 50 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Journal of general internal medicine)
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 6 / 12 A case-control study
Strength of evidence 3 / 5 Rated “moderate” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 1 / 5 1991 — older than 20 years, still counted
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 0 / 3 Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 2023019)
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Points 29 / 58 Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 29 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 50 out of 100.
Total 50 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Related studies in Risk factors

Also tagged “coherence-tomography”

151 studies in the library carry the topic tag “coherence-tomography”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 151 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Risk factors

See all studies in Risk factors →